Desktop hardware configuration Linux Mint Cinnamon & Blender

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SunnySkies

Desktop hardware configuration Linux Mint Cinnamon & Blender

Post by SunnySkies »

Hello,

I am completely new to Linux. I wanted to buy a desktop computer mainly to run Blender. I was leaning towards Linux Mint Cinnamon.

My local computer assembler guy has never installed or ran Mint or Blender. So he wanted to know if anyone can confirm if the following desktop hardware configuration would work:

Intel G4560 7th gen 3.5Ghz
Motherboard Chipset Intel H110- HDMI
Video Graphics Card Nvidia GeForce GT1030 2Gb DDR5
RAM 4GB DDR4

I know this is a simple configuration but it's what fits my budget. More expensive choices do not, so it's useless to tell me to go buy other more expensive components.

The main question for me is if this hardware configuration will run Linux Mint Cinnamon and Blender without problems, if anyone has ever done it before...

thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Desktop hardware configuration Linux Mint Cinnamon & Blender

Post by catweazel »

SunnySkies wrote: Sun May 13, 2018 2:58 pm Intel G4560 7th gen 3.5Ghz
Assuming you can get Mint installed, you'll need to upgrade to a newer kernel as soon as possible.

The best way to test Mint without installing it is to write the .iso to a USB flash drive and boot from that.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
emiliosm
Level 3
Level 3

Post by emiliosm »

la puedes descargar desde aqui https://www.linux-apps.com/p/1169218/ la version appimage y la pruebas sin instalar nada
absque fenestris
Level 12
Level 12