BIOS should PAE be enabled? [solved]

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1398
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: /Home/Desktop
Contact:

BIOS should PAE be enabled? [solved]

Post by AZgl1500 » Mon May 14, 2018 2:15 am

I was just perusing the BIOS configuration to see if I had overlooked anything?

and I noticed that PAE is turned OFF.


Image


Every thing works just fine, response is fast, and I'm happy with how it is now.
But, will PAE help it work even faster?

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fzxd
System:    Host: john-TP500LA Kernel: 4.13.0-41-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: ASUSTeK (portable) product: TP500LA v: 1.0
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: TP500LA v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: TP500LA.203 date: 06/11/2014
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-4030U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7582
           clock speeds: max: 1800 MHz 1: 849 MHz 2: 935 MHz 3: 924 MHz
           4: 806 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.01hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Haswell-ULT HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-41-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.1
           IF: enp2s0f1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: MEDIATEK MT7630e 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: mt7630e v: 2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
2.3.8
           bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0f0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-3: Ralink RT5372 Wireless Adapter
           driver: rt2800usb v: 2.3.0 usb-ID: 001-003
           IF: wlx9cefd5fd2968 state: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (23.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABF0 size: 500.1GB
           Optical: No optical drives detected.
Partition: ID-1: / size: 406G used: 105G (28%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.17GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2700
Info:      Processes: 223 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 1099.2/3829.2MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
Last edited by AZgl1500 on Mon May 14, 2018 2:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5492
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: BIOS should PAE be enabled?

Post by catweazel » Mon May 14, 2018 2:45 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 2:15 am

Code: Select all

Memory: 1099.2/3829.2MB
You don't need it. PAE is an old kludge used for 32-bit machines to allow them to access more than 4GB of RAM.
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1398
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: /Home/Desktop
Contact:

Re: BIOS should PAE be enabled? [solved]

Post by AZgl1500 » Mon May 14, 2018 2:52 am

good enough,

I have an 8gB RAM chip to install, just as soon as I get 'roundtoit' :lol:

User avatar
catweazel
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5492
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: BIOS should PAE be enabled? [solved]

Post by catweazel » Mon May 14, 2018 2:54 am

AZgl1500 wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 2:52 am
just as soon as I get 'roundtoit' :lol:
Image
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4793
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: BIOS should PAE be enabled? [solved]

Post by Mute Ant » Tue May 15, 2018 4:41 am

Errr that says PXE doesn't it? PXE PXE PXE
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Preboot_E ... nvironment

Next you can try ACPI and APCI.
In Chapter One, Boron slays the entire Marketing Department by explaining Asynchronous Protocols.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”