Keyboard - looking for easy way to handle special characters

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SvenTexas

Keyboard - looking for easy way to handle special characters

Post by SvenTexas »

On computers, I'm a grizzled veteran. On Linux, I'm a useless new guy. If this is a dumb question, I apologize... but I'm still hoping for an answer.

MacOS has solved the problem of typing multiple language with a single keyboard. I write screenplays, and my characters sometimes drop Swedish or German. On a Mac, I just long-press a key... say, "A". The Mac reacts to this long-press by popping up a small window, showing A-acute, A-grave, A-ring, A-umlaut, and so forth. Each special character has a number. To get the A-ring, I'd press its number. The scheme also works on dash vs EN-dash, vs EM-dash. Easy peasy and scandalously simple to understand.

That's an awful thing if you're typing Swedish all day. I don't do that. What Mac gives me is a huge chunk of special characters without too much obvious architecture to get in my way.

Has anybody ever heard of a keyboard app or virtual keyboard that does all that?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
smurphos
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Keyboard - looking for easy way to handle special characters

Post by smurphos »

Mint version and desktop environment?

Linux will generally have an option to assign a 'compose' key which allows for special characters with 3 key presses. Some desktop environments may have a panel applet or similar that gives a menu of clickable special characters.

The default compose key is shift and right-alt together.

Examples of compose key usage.....

Compose key release e release ` = è
Compose key release e release " = ë