dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Sat May 19, 2018 4:36 am

hello,

i'm running mint 18.2.

2 X 27" dell u2713hm monitors. max 2560*1440 resolution ; inputs: DVI, HDMI, Dsub-VGA, displayport.
via VGA only 1920x1080 possible, all the other inputs can be set to max resolution

graphic card: asus Geforce gt730
output: 1 xD sub, 1 x DVI, 1 x HDMI
DVI Max Resolution : 2560x1600
Digital Max Resolution:7680 x 4320


1 monitor connected to gt730 via dvi at max resolution
1 monitor connected to gt730 via hdmi at 1920x1080

problem:
i cannot get the resolution at maximum with the second monitor. can somebody help me ?

thank you so much
kind regards
fillemondieu

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by ClixTrix » Sun May 20, 2018 8:30 am

Please run the following command from Terminal and post back the results.

Code: Select all

xrandr
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Sun May 20, 2018 9:02 am

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 4480 x 1440, maximum 16384 x 16384
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-D-0 connected primary 2560x1440+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 597mm x 336mm
2560x1440 59.95*+
1920x1200 59.88
1920x1080 60.00
1680x1050 59.95
1600x1200 60.00
1280x1024 75.02 60.02
1280x800 59.81
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 75.03 60.00
800x600 75.00 60.32
640x480 75.00 59.94
HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+2560+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 597mm x 336mm
1920x1080 60.00*+ 59.94 50.00 23.97 60.05 60.00 50.04
1680x1050 59.95
1600x1200 60.00
1280x1024 75.02 60.02
1280x800 59.81
1280x720 60.00 59.94 50.00
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 75.03 60.00
800x600 75.00 60.32
720x576 50.00
720x480 59.94
640x480 75.00 59.94 59.93

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by ClixTrix » Sun May 20, 2018 10:37 am

OK....just needed to confirm with xrandr that the HDMI port doesn't have the 2560x1440 resolution. It could be a problem with X/driver support for that resolution. I'm going to assume for the moment that the driver does support, but needs to have it added above standard HD 1920x1080.

The way to fix that problem is by creating an xorg.conf file to add the resolution with a modeline entry for that resolution. If you look in your System Log (Menu - Administration) in the Xorg section, it shows startup of X and reports the Modeline(s) available. You should see a line there for the DVI monitor. I ran a CVT from Terminal for 2560x1440 @ 60 to generate a modeline and got the following:

cvt 2560 1440 60
# 2560x1440 59.96 Hz (CVT 3.69M9) hsync: 89.52 kHz; pclk: 312.25 MHz
Modeline "2560x1440_60.00" 312.25 2560 2752 3024 3488 1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync

That line in blue should EXACTLY match a line in the log under those detected for the DVI port and working monitor. If not, post back with that section from the log for DVI. If yes, then this code is a possible fix (or at least a starting point). Note, this adds to existing Modeline(s) for a port, in this case HDMI-0.

Code: Select all

Section "Monitor"
 Identifier "HDMI-0"
 Modeline "2560x1440_60.00"  312.25  2560 2752 3024 3488  1440 1443 1448 1493 -hsync +vsync
EndSection
That code needs to be added as a file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf (cap sensitive). To add the code bring up the xed editor with the following command and copy-paste the code into the editor. Note, using super-user requires password.

Code: Select all

gksudo xed
When the code is copied, save it to /etc/X11/xorg.conf ... may have to click on other locations - Computer during save to locate etc and the X11 folders.

You will need to reboot to get that parameter to add to X. You should then see that resolution available and in the xorg log as added. You can also add other needed Modeline(s) for the HDMI-0 using the same method. Just added them to that file using gksudo xed to edit and place them before the EndSection.

If this doesn't work, it might need more finesse on the parameter definition or the driver simply won't support that resolution at current release.

Edit: Are you using the Nouveau open-source driver or the nVidia Proprietary driver? If you're using the nVidia driver, which version?
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Sun May 20, 2018 3:00 pm

The way to fix that problem is by creating an xorg.conf file to add the resolution with a modeline entry for that resolution. If you look in your System Log (Menu - Administration) in the Xorg section, it shows startup of X and reports the Modeline(s) available. You should see a line there for the DVI monitor. I ran a CVT from Terminal for 2560x1440 @ 60 to generate a modeline and got the following:
i can't find the Xorg.section, i can only see the Xorg.0.log and there is not DVI section in it...
That code needs to be added as a file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf (cap sensitive). To add the code bring up the xed editor with the following command and copy-paste the code into the editor. Note, using super-user requires password.
this is an empty file ? is this normal ?
Edit: Are you using the Nouveau open-source driver or the nVidia Proprietary driver? If you're using the nVidia driver, which version?

i'm using the nvidia 384.111 driver, is the nouveau driver the better option ? then i will install this.

thank you so much
kind regards

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by ClixTrix » Sun May 20, 2018 3:22 pm

Yes, the Xorg.0.log is correct. There should be a line similar to....

"Printing probed modes for output DVI-0"

(or it might say DVI-D-0 from your xrandr post) and the the Modeline lines follow that line in the log. The log is not too long to use the scroll bar to search down or you could use the search feature (note that DVI is probably in upper case).

Yes, the file is empty, i.e. there is no existing file....you're creating one.

Well, I'm uncertain at this point whether either Nouveau or nVidia support the resolution. Usually, I recommend the nVidia driver as a good place to start. I'm assuming that 384.111 was the "recommended" driver in Driver Manager.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Thu May 24, 2018 11:57 am

thanks a lot ClixTrix for the elaboration.
but i still can find any DVI or HDMI part in the Xorg.0.log.

the 384.111 was indeed recommended driver.

it seems to be more difficult than thought
thanks again

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by ClixTrix » Thu May 24, 2018 12:49 pm

I have some bad news for you. The maximum resolution on that Dell U2713HM monitor on HDMI port is 1920x1080 or standard HD.

https://superuser.com/questions/606946/ ... hdmi-60fps

That explains why you don't see the higher resolutions.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Thu May 24, 2018 12:58 pm

:shock:

that's a shame. thank you so much for the information.
i have red the post.

could i use hdmi to dvi cable and attach the second monitor that way ?
thank you again

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by ClixTrix » Thu May 24, 2018 1:15 pm

Yes, HDMI to DVI converter is exactly what I'd try as a workaround.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Thu May 24, 2018 1:47 pm

great, i'll order one..

maybe another option
i have also an onboard graphic card next to the gt730; would it be possible to run both the gt730 and the onboard gpu (HD Graphics 2000/3000) at the same time ? might be a simple solution

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by ClixTrix » Thu May 24, 2018 1:59 pm

In general, you should be able to run Integrate Graphics with the add-on. However, sometimes add-on is detected by BIOS and disables the integrated automatically. If the integrated graphics is enabled in BIOS, run the following command from Terminal and post back the results.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

fillemondieu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: dual monitor 2560x1440 : resolution not at max

Post by fillemondieu » Fri May 25, 2018 11:21 am

thanks ClixTrix

i had to enable it in the bios: BUT: the onboard intel 2000 has a max resolution of
supports HDMI Technology with max. resolution up to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
Supports DVI with max. resolution up to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
Supports D-Sub with max. resolution up to 2048x1536 @ 75Hz

so that doesn't help .

i connected a hdmi to DVI cable and i'm back at square one: the resolution is still not higher as 1920*1080, cause the videocard thinks that the monitor is connected via the hdmi cable all the way...
i guess i need to get an extra modeline on the hdmi part... and hope it works. i have bought the new cable to be a DVI-Dual one, it's a non-brand, that might give problems down the road... (i might need to get a belkin one or something like that).

kind regards

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”