[Solved} Running in software rendering mode

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

[Solved} Running in software rendering mode

Post by Captain Brillo » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:49 pm

Getting this message with Mint 19 Cinnamon in VirtualBox.
Running in software rendering mode
What does this mean, and how do I fix it?
Last edited by Captain Brillo on Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Running in software rendering mode

Post by ClixTrix » Sat Jun 16, 2018 6:57 am

You will need to Install the VB Guest Additions. This method should work for 19 Cinnamon (as I'm already there).

1) With the guest machine started, go to the top menu on the machine window and click on Devices. From the drop-down list select "Insert Guest Additions CD Image ...". That will launch the installer window and select Run. It should bring up a Terminal Window and ask for password to proceed with install. You'll need to shutdown the machine after install completes.

2) From the Host VB Manager window, you'll need to select the machine and look in the Display Settings for "Enable 3D Acceleration".

3) Now start the machine.

Note, you might encounter a muddy background image after boot. I believe this is an old X11 problem that hasn't gotten much attention. If you toggle to another background after start, it does clear-up the image.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-24-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung EVO 960 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: Running in software rendering mode

Post by Captain Brillo » Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:41 pm

The thing is that it is the installation iso that first says

"running in software rendering mode"

All settings are as normal, there are 4 other VMs on this box without this problem.
But the same issue happens when trying to install Debian 9.

Is there something different about these 2 iso's?

Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: Running in software rendering mode

Post by Captain Brillo » Sat Jun 16, 2018 2:35 pm

The above issue is with Mint 19 (or Debian 9) Cinnamon.
Mate or XFCE are fine.

The VMs are set at 2 GB RAM / 128 MB display / 2-processors / 3D Acceleration / 100GB virtual disk (big HDD)
What else might point to the reason?

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8116
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Running in software rendering mode

Post by jimallyn » Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:52 am

Captain Brillo wrote:
Sat Jun 16, 2018 2:35 pm
The above issue is with Mint 19 (or Debian 9) Cinnamon.
Mate or XFCE are fine.

The VMs are set at 2 GB RAM / 128 MB display / 2-processors / 3D Acceleration / 100GB virtual disk (big HDD)
What else might point to the reason?
Cinnamon requires 3D video acceleration. If you don't have it, or don't yet have it enabled in your VirtualBox installs by installing the Guest Additions, you will always get that message. ClixTrix gave you the solution.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

Captain Brillo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: Running in software rendering mode

Post by Captain Brillo » Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:24 am

As I said, 3D Acceleration IS on.
Turns out that the VB guest stuff was corrupted and I had to reinstall VB.
Working now.

Thanks all.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6897
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: [Solved} Running in software rendering mode

Post by Pierre » Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:32 am

YEP - - I've had to re-install the VB Guest Additions, on more than one occasion.

sometimes, even the VB software update, makes things go pear-shaped.
:(
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”