Mint freezes after screen off

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
audio2u
Level 1
Level 1

Mint freezes after screen off

Post by audio2u »

Hi all,
First post here.
I've been running Mint for about 2 years, but had to reformat my machine a couple of weeks ago and reinstall everything (I run a dual boot configuration of Win10/64 and Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 3.6.7).
And ever since then, Mint will freeze once the power management has turned the screens off.
I currently have it set to turn the monitor off after 5 mins of inactivity.
Sure, I can set it longer, but that doesn't fix the problem.
Hardware is as follows:

Asus Sabertooth 990RX 2.0 motherboard
AMD FX8350 CPU
16GB RAM
GeForce GTX760 4GB OC graphics card
Root is located on a Samsung EVO850 SSD (as is Win10).
Swap is 8GB on a separate HDD.
Home is located on another HDD.

So, one the power management kicks in and turns the monitor off, I can come back to the machine and wiggle the mouse, and the screens wake up.
Mouse can move around the screen... but clicking on anything yields no result.
Caps Lock light on the keyboard can be toggled on/off, but hitting the super key will not open the Mint menu, nor will any other key presses result in any other activity.
I'd love to know if anyone has any ideas as to why the system becomes unresponsive in this way.
Thanks in advance!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
kc1di
Level 18
Level 18

Re: Mint freezes after screen off

Post by kc1di »

Hello audio2u and Welcome to Linux Mint Forums,
Have you installed the recommended Nvidia driver using the driver manager tool found in the Menu under Administration? If not try that first.