Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Stellarix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:11 pm

Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by Stellarix » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:31 am

Image

what is EDAC pnd2: Failed to register device with error -22 and Couldn't get size: 0x800000000000000e on the logs
how to fix it ?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6284
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by catweazel » Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:15 am

Stellarix wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:31 am
how to fix it ?
Please post the output of this terminal command:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Enclose the results in-between [ⅽode] and [/ⅽode] code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply.
There are no silly questions, but there are silly answers.

Stellarix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by Stellarix » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:26 am

catweazel wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:15 am
Stellarix wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:31 am
how to fix it ?
Please post the output of this terminal command:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Enclose the results in-between [ⅽode] and [/ⅽode] code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: MINT Kernel: 4.15.0-24-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.6 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Acer product: Aspire ES1-432 v: V1.13 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Acer model: Maia_AP v: V1.13 serial: N/A
           UEFI: Insyde v: V1.13 date: 06/08/2017
Battery    BAT1: charge: 24.2 Wh 69.5% condition: 34.8/41.4 Wh (84%)
           model: SANYO AS16A5K status: Discharging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Celeron N3350 (-MCP-) arch: N/A cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 4377
           clock speeds: max: 2400 MHz 1: 1078 MHz 2: 1226 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Device 5a85 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 500 (Broxton 2x6)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.0-rc5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Celeron N3350/Pentium N4200/Atom E3900 Series Audio Cluster
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:0e.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-24-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 1000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Device 24fb driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (4.6% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABF0 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 94G used: 6.0G (7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-2: /home size: 362G used: 14G (4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.05GB used: 0.00GB (0%)
           fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 37.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 175 Uptime: 1 min Memory: 574.1/1821.7MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
Sorry for late reply.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6284
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by catweazel » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:49 am

Stellarix wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:26 am
Sorry for late reply.
It's not a problem.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: MINT Kernel: 4.15.0-24-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           UEFI: Insyde v: V1.13 date: 06/08/2017
Ok, two things. First, check for a BIOS update and update your BIOS if one is available. Second, if that doesn't fix it, drop that kernel and use an earlier version, probably 4.15.0-20. To boot into an earlier kernel, if the grub menu shows, choose a different kernel from the menu. If it doesn't show, hold down the shift key as soon as the machine has finished POSTing.
There are no silly questions, but there are silly answers.

Stellarix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by Stellarix » Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:26 am

catweazel wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:49 am
Stellarix wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:26 am
Sorry for late reply.
It's not a problem.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: MINT Kernel: 4.15.0-24-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           UEFI: Insyde v: V1.13 date: 06/08/2017
Ok, two things. First, check for a BIOS update and update your BIOS if one is available. Second, if that doesn't fix it, drop that kernel and use an earlier version, probably 4.15.0-20. To boot into an earlier kernel, if the grub menu shows, choose a different kernel from the menu. If it doesn't show, hold down the shift key as soon as the machine has finished POSTing.
I'm afraid to update the bios, I don't have any experience on that.

How to boot into earlier kernel? Can you show it step by step

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6284
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by catweazel » Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:21 pm

Stellarix wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:26 am
I'm afraid to update the bios, I don't have any experience on that.
We all have to learn some time. Your machine's manual will have the instructions. Updating your machine's BIOS will eliminate one major possible cause. Perhaps you can speak to a friend or colleague and ask them to help you.
How to boot into earlier kernel? Can you show it step by step
Booting the earlier kernel is just a shot in the dark. A BIOS update is the first step.
There are no silly questions, but there are silly answers.

Stellarix
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by Stellarix » Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:41 pm

catweazel wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 5:21 pm
Stellarix wrote:
Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:26 am
I'm afraid to update the bios, I don't have any experience on that.
We all have to learn some time. Your machine's manual will have the instructions. Updating your machine's BIOS will eliminate one major possible cause. Perhaps you can speak to a friend or colleague and ask them to help you.
How to boot into earlier kernel? Can you show it step by step
Booting the earlier kernel is just a shot in the dark. A BIOS update is the first step.
i update the bios and it doesnt work, i fix Couldn't get size *** etc with enable secure boot, now the error is EDAC pnd2: Failed to register device with error -22.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6284
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Logs : EDAC PND & Couln't get size etc

Post by catweazel » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:30 am

Stellarix wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:41 pm
i update the bios and it doesnt work, i fix Couldn't get size *** etc with enable secure boot, now the error is EDAC pnd2: Failed to register device with error -22.
Ok, well, there are two thing to look at now. First, select an older kernel in the 4.15.0 range than your current kernel, 4.15.0-24. This kernel has issues. You can select an older kernel from the GrUB menu. If that doesn't help then I recommend starting Memtest from the GrUB menu. You may have bad RAM.
There are no silly questions, but there are silly answers.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”