Kingston Datatraveler Question

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
lifewithoutparole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:40 pm

Kingston Datatraveler Question

Post by lifewithoutparole » Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:54 pm

Hi All, HD failed so I Installed Linux Mint in February on the new SSD. I have a Kingston DTVP3.0 encrypted drive and today I plugged it in to see if I could still use it. It is recognized but I cannot get the launcher to work. It was originally used on my windows 7 computer. I can see that it has Linux folders 32bit/64 bit so apparently it will work with Linux. Do any of you know of a program I can download that will let me open the drive and use it? I use it for travelling and store insurance and medical information, that sort of thing. Any help would be appreciated. Also, I am not worried about losing any of the data on the drive. Thanks, Tim in Florida USA

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Kingston Datatraveler Question

Post by ClixTrix » Tue Jul 17, 2018 9:19 am

Does this manual in the section, pages 21-24, on Linux Ubuntu (Mint is based upon Ubuntu) help?

http://media.kingston.com/support/downl ... al_002.pdf
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.15.0-36-generic
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F20) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
NVMe-SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB / SATA-HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SATA-SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

lifewithoutparole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:40 pm

Re: Kingston Datatraveler Question

Post by lifewithoutparole » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:55 pm

ClixTrix, Thanks for the link. It appears that I can set this up after all. I was hoping I could use it in a MS OS and Linux OS, since it is for emergency only and If I am stranded with it most computers I could access will still be running MS Windows....Thanks so much for the help. Tim

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”