Webcam Logitech Quikcam E2500

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Miguelito
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:21 pm

Webcam Logitech Quikcam E2500

Post by Miguelito » Mon Aug 13, 2018 12:53 pm

This is the eternal question about webcams on Linux.

I have a usb Logitech QuikCam E 2500 series (with microphone integrated). It works in latest linuxmint's. Now i have Linux Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon.

Skype and cheese don't detect this webcam. But guvcview detect it. VLC don't shnow anything.

LSUSB
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:089d Logitech, Inc. QuickCam E2500 series

dmesg | grep -i uvc
(don't show anything)

hwinfo --usb (just detect the mic inside webcam)
06: USB 00.1: 11200 TV Card
[Created at usb.122]
Unique ID: DlBy.titv5pQMa67
Parent ID: uIhY.7qWCOCfUJwE
SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.0/usb3/3-2/3-2:1.1
SysFS BusID: 3-2:1.1
Hardware Class: tv card
Model: "Logitech QuickCam E2500 series"
Hotplug: USB
Vendor: usb 0x046d "Logitech, Inc."
Device: usb 0x089d "QuickCam E2500 series"
Revision: "1.00"
Driver: "snd-usb-audio"
Driver Modules: "snd_usb_audio"
Speed: 12 Mbps
Module Alias: "usb:v046Dp089Dd0100dc00dsc00dp00ic01isc01ip00in01"
Driver Info #0:
Driver Status: gspca_zc3xx is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe gspca_zc3xx"
Driver Info #1:
Driver Status: snd_usb_audio is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe snd_usb_audio"
Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
Attached to: #7 (Hub)

dmesg | grep -i cam
[ 0.000000] AMD AuthenticAMD



lsmod | grep videodev
videodev 184320 4 v4l2_common,gspca_zc3xx,gspca_main
media 40960 1 videodev



dmesg | tail
[ 23.671221] audit: type=1400 audit(1534175666.189:9): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/sbin/dhclient" pid=855 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 23.671225] audit: type=1400 audit(1534175666.189:10): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/NetworkManager/nm-dhcp-client.action" pid=855 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 23.671229] audit: type=1400 audit(1534175666.189:11): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="/usr/lib/NetworkManager/nm-dhcp-helper" pid=855 comm="apparmor_parser"
[ 28.383352] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): enp2s0: link is not ready
[ 28.383923] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): enp2s0: link is not ready
[ 28.384708] alx 0000:02:00.0 enp2s0: NIC Up: 100 Mbps Full
[ 28.384929] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): enp2s0: link becomes ready
[ 30.547806] resource sanity check: requesting [mem 0x000c0000-0x000fffff], which spans more than PCI Bus 0000:00 [mem 0x000c0000-0x000dffff window]
[ 30.548360] caller os_map_kernel_space.part.7+0xda/0x120 [nvidia] mapping multiple BARs
[ 30.794623] nvidia-modeset: Allocated GPU:0 (GPU-55512aa9-5b5d-6706-19c3-80f5bca70144) @ PCI:0000:01:00.0


inxi -Fxz
System: Host: Polaris Kernel: 4.15.0-30-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.8 (Gtk 3.22.30) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-78LMT-S2PT v: x.x serial: N/A BIOS: Award v: FC date: 11/05/2012
CPU: 8 core AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core (-MCP-) arch: Bulldozer rev.0 cache: 16384 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 44996
clock speeds: max: 2800 MHz 1: 1394 MHz 2: 2023 MHz 3: 1402 MHz 4: 1406 MHz 5: 1403 MHz 6: 1775 MHz
7: 1404 MHz 8: 1392 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF119 [GeForce GT 610] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 610/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.48 Direct Render: Yes
Audio: Card-1 NVIDIA GF119 HDMI Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
Card-3 Logitech QuickCam E2500 series driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 003-002
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-30-generic
Network: Card: Qualcomm Atheros AR8161 Gigabit Ethernet driver: alx port: df00 bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1200.3GB (12.1% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD1600AAJB size: 160.0GB
ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST340810A size: 40.0GB
ID-3: /dev/sdc model: TOSHIBA_DT01ACA1 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 49G used: 12G (25%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1
ID-2: /home size: 715G used: 111G (17%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc2
ID-3: /tmp size: 142G used: 1.1G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc4
ID-4: swap-1 size: 3.05GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
ID-5: swap-2 size: 1.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb2
ID-6: swap-3 size: 10.48GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdc3
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 24.9C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:64C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 277 Uptime: 56 min Memory: 4191.6/7974.7MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56



ls /dev/video*
/dev/video0



I tried:
cheese -d /dev/video0 (Black imagen, say: "Not device detected")
skypeforlinux -d /dev/video0 (just black, detecte the device USB Camera (046d:089d), but no image)
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l1compat.so cheese (and skype) (the same black screen)
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l2convert.so /usr/bin/skypeforlinux (and cheese) (the sabe black screen)

Miguelito
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:21 pm

Re: Webcam Logitech Quikcam E2500

Post by Miguelito » Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:05 pm

Still nothing.
I was looking but nothing yet.

User avatar
phd21
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7267
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Webcam Logitech Quikcam E2500

Post by phd21 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:35 pm

HI Miguelito,

It can take some time before people in the forum can respond and unless someone can offer some advice, you may not get a good reply.

Since Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon is detecting the device, I do not see any reason why it should not be working.

You installed the 3rd party packages in Linux Mint when you installed Linux Mint correct, if not install "mint-meta-codecs" from the Software Manager or Synaptic Package Manager SPM. You might also consider installing ubuntu-restricted-extras, and the video for linux (V4L) packages from the "Synaptic Package Manager SPM", search for v4l, restart computer afterward.

- You can try unplugging the webcam from the current USB port, waiting about 12 seconds, inserting it into another USB port, waiting a little bit to see if that works any better.

- Sometimes (rarely) certain devices that are designed for USB 2 will not work properly in USB 3.x ports or USB 1.x ports, so try to use a USB v2 port. Some computers have USB ports specifically for keyboards and mice, so don't use one of those for anything else.

- Do not use passive USB hubs that do not have their own separate power supplies.

- If all else fails, try getting another webcam. I have a Logitech Webcam C270 (Amazon.com $21.50 us) that works pretty well in Linux Mint, and now they have much better ones with even higher resolution and better microphones available.

Although the "cheese" application is very nice, it can be tempermental. "guvcview" is a superb webcam and V4L application.

"Skype" is not a secure means of communication. I highly recommend that you and anyone you know to switch from Skype to another secure multimedia messenger like "Qtox", "Wire", "Ring", 'Jitsi", "Linphone", etc...

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

Miguelito
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:21 pm

Re: Webcam Logitech Quikcam E2500

Post by Miguelito » Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:15 pm

Hi.
Thanks for take time to answer me.

First af all, i have all restricted-extras installed (ubuntu and mint).

I realized that my webcam is old. I didn't use, but now for mork i need it; i see that have a picture no HD. Well, i will buy another one soon.

Of course skype is not secure; i wishn not have any microsoft software at my linux, but everybody use skype, and i must use it, as fonts Times New Roman, Calibri, etc. I f depends of me, everybody will use linux, ha ha :lol:

Even that, my webcam must work. Reading your instructions i look at internet and find new information.

Right now, cheese work. The right command is:
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /usr/bin/cheese

and not

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /usr/bin/cheese

Well, that command must help to skype too.

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /usr/bin/skypeforlinux

But not, the previw screen in configuration, still is black. I changed from usb port to another one. I unplugged in skype, wait some seconis (12 and plus), and pluged again, skype decetec it again, but prewim screen is black.

I understand, all is fine, linux mint detect it, cheese and guvcview mork, lsusb, and other commands detec this webcam. Just not work in skype.

Strange.
And, like a old cam i don't go to find much information. I understand that.

Thanks!!

Miguelito
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:21 pm

Re: Webcam Logitech Quikcam E2500

Post by Miguelito » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:48 pm

the last days i get some new skypeforlinux updates; but still nothing :'(

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”