[SOLVED] HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

[SOLVED] HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

I have an HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices and no audio.

Code: Select all

Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 157a
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:09.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 15b3
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-33-generic
This my first HP that has had this problem. Can use some help, please.
Thanks
Last edited by WesternSlope on Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

What, if anything, have you tried?

Was sound working then stopped?

Is this a new laptop?

Is this a new Mint install? If so, what version number?

Is this a dual boot? If so, does sound work in the other OS?

Are we talking about built-in speakers?

Are we talking about plugged in speakers?

Are we talking about headphones?

Are we talking about sound over HDMI?

Are we talking about all of the above?

Some steps you could try:

Run alsamixer in the terminal. Whatever output columns (headphones, speakers, line out, etc) you're trying to listen on might have MM at the bottom which means it's muted. If so, arrow over to the column and press the m key to unmute. You can also press the up arrow to increase volume.

Another possibility is a misconfiguration (maybe it's playing to HDMI but you're not set up to listen that way.) Install and run PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol) and check the Configuration tab where you'll probably want to set Analog Stereo Duplex.

Let us know how it goes.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

What, if anything, have you tried?

I tried to listen to my grandkid with what he had sent. That's how I found there was no output.

Was sound working then stopped?

Just finished installing Mint 19.

Is this a new laptop?

About three months old.

Is this a new Mint install? If so, what version number?

Mint 19

Is this a dual boot? If so, does sound work in the other OS?

Yes on the dual boot and yes it works with win 10.

Are we talking about built-in speakers?

Yes, built-in.

Are we talking about plugged in speakers?

Are we talking about headphones?

Are we talking about sound over HDMI?

Are we talking about all of the above?

Pretty much the whole ball of wax from above.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

WesternSlope wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:20 pm
I tried to listen to my grandkid with what he had sent. That's how I found there was no output.
Are we talking about Skype or something similar?

Does typing the following into the terminal produce sound: aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

They sent me a MP4 through email and with the aplay /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav, it did not play anything.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

Play the mp4, and while it's playing type this in the terminal: pacmd list-sinks

Copy the output and paste it here.

When pasting, enclose the results in-between [ⅽode] and [/ⅽode] code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

Here ya go.

Code: Select all

billy@billy-HP:~$ pacmd list-sinks
1 sink(s) available.
  * index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_09.2.analog-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: RUNNING
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9039
	volume: front-left: 82040 / 125% / 5.85 dB,   front-right: 82040 / 125% / 5.85 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 89.75 ms
	max request: 15 KiB
	max rewind: 64 KiB
	monitor source: 0
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 1
	linked by: 1
	configured latency: 90.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_09.2>
	module: 8
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "ALC295 Analog"
		alsa.id = "ALC295 Analog"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "0"
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HD-Audio Generic"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HD-Audio Generic at 0xfeb60000 irq 43"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:09.2"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:09.2/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1022"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]"
		device.product.id = "157a"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "front:1"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
		device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC295"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0295,103c8355,00100002"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		analog-output-speaker: Speakers (priority 10000, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-speakers"
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
	active port: <analog-output-speaker>

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

Okay. Your output shows the system is having trouble recognizing speaker availability. It appears headphones will work.

Here is a possible solution. In the terminal type xed admin:///etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf and scroll to the bottom and this line:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-amic
then save the file.

Now either reboot, or log out/in and test your sound.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

You were right on the earphones, but no good on the speakers. Here is how I saved the edit. Please let me know if it's right.

Code: Select all

# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7

# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-ioctl32 ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }
#
# Workaround at bug #499695 (reverted in Ubuntu see LP #319505)
install snd-pcm /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-pcm $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-pcm-oss ; : ; }
install snd-mixer /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-mixer $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-mixer-oss ; : ; }
install snd-seq /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-seq $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-oss ; : ; }
#
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above sound card driver modules
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-emu10k1-synth ; }
install snd-via82xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-via82xx $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }

# Load saa7134-alsa instead of saa7134 (which gets dragged in by it anyway)
install saa7134 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install saa7134 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist saa7134-alsa ; : ; }
# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options bt87x index=-2
options cx88_alsa index=-2
options saa7134-alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-usb-caiaq index=-2
options snd-usb-ua101 index=-2
options snd-usb-us122l index=-2
options snd-usb-usx2y index=-2
# Ubuntu #62691, enable MPU for snd-cmipci
options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
# Keep snd-pcsp from being loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2
# Keep snd-usb-audio from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-amic

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

You did it perfectly. As it didn't work, try changing it to:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic
There are a number of different possibilities and I'm just trying the ones I think most likely to help in your case. If dmic also doesn't help, try either of:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
options snd-hda-intel model=hp
Remember to save the file and either reboot or log out/in after each change.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

None of these worked.
options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
options snd-hda-intel model=hp
Last edited by WesternSlope on Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

None of these worked.
options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
options snd-hda-intel model=hp

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

The board is going nuts on me. Keeps posting the same. Sorry...
None of these worked.
options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
options snd-hda-intel model=hp
Last edited by WesternSlope on Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

The earphones sound good.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

Okay. I have one more suggestion before we start some serious fiddling.

First, just to be safe, delete that last line you created and save the file.

Now, in the terminal paste each of the following lines one at a time:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove --purge alsa-base pulseaudio
sudo apt-get install alsa-base pulseaudio
sudo alsa force-reload
Now test the speakers.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

I'm sure it was something I messed up, but with the last edit, it blew me right out of the water and now over here on my windows side. Is there any way I can bring Mint back up? Said it was going into default mode, or something like that and just stayed there with the cursor and black screen. Tried to figure out how to recover in the grub, but I have no idea how to do it. No biggie as I had just installed the system and sit here all of the time doing nothing.
Thanks

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

I don't see any way those instructions could have caused something that bad regardless of any typos or anything.

We'll either have to wait for someone else to help with that part, or reinstall, your choice.

Sorry.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

I'm sure the edits nothing to do with it and it was on my side. I don't blame you in the least. I really don't mind reinstalling. I did make a back up with Timeshift and wonder if I can reinstall with it, or if I do the install and then use Timeshift.
Thanks

User avatar
MrEen
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7965
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by MrEen »

Well, you can use Timeshift instead of reinstalling to get back to how things were.

If I remember correctly, you run it from the live USB you used to install Mint.

Remember to back up anything important before starting something big like that. You should be able to copy any files you need while running the live USB.

WesternSlope
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:32 am
Location: Westslope of Colorado

Re: HP Laptop with Advanced Micro Devices no audio

Post by WesternSlope »

Putting my big boy pants on and going for it. If I'm not back in a week call out the search team.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”