Mint cannot "see" FakeRaid drive on AMD Ryzen system

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
RedCMD
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:30 pm

Mint cannot "see" FakeRaid drive on AMD Ryzen system

Post by RedCMD » Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:33 am

I have a ga-ax370m-ds3h motherboard (Ryzen CPU)
With a 1tb and 500gb HDD's in fake-raid 0 via the bios (uefi)
Windows 10 detects them fine (with a driver from https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA ... taraidahci)
I'm going to install LM 19 Cinnamon on my SSD (m.2 Samsung 970 evo) and use the raid as my main storage
But LM (booted from USB) cannot find the drives
I've searched online for a bit and it seems that I need to compile my own kernel(?), which I prefer not to
The output from

Code: Select all

dmraid -l
and

Code: Select all

fdisk -l
don't list the drives
Is there a driver that I can use? Or is there some program that will mount the drives? Or should I use windows 10 software raid 0?
Keep in mind that I'm only using it for storage, so I don't need (tho might be nice) them to mounted before/during LM booting
[EDIT]
How would I compile a kernal with the drivers?
Last edited by RedCMD on Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7566
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Mint cannot "see" FakeRaid drive on AMD Ryzen motherboard

Post by catweazel » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:42 am

RedCMD wrote:
Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:33 am
I have a ga-ax370m-ds3h motherboard (Ryzen CPU)
With a 1tb and 1/2tb HDD's in fake-raid 0 via the bios (uefi)
First of all, what exactly does "1/2tb HDD" mean? Does mean half a TB, as in 500GB, or does it mean 1 x 2TB HDD?

Either way, setting different drive sizes to RAID means you will lose either 500GB from the 1TB drive (if 1/2tb means 500GB) or 1TB from the 1 x 2TB (if 1/2tb means 1 x 2TB) drive. It simply doesn't make any sense to RAID them. That said...

Code: Select all

sudo apt install mdadm
sudo mdadm --assemble --scan
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
RedCMD
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: Mint cannot "see" FakeRaid drive on AMD Ryzen motherboard

Post by RedCMD » Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:43 pm

"1/2" as in half a tb (500gb)
yes I do lose some space, but 1tb in total is all I need
Its just that I cant access or even see the drives in LinuxMint
Windows can see them, but needs a driver to access them
Im raiding them for speed
Both drives (separate) max out at 140mb/sec
But when in raid 0 the speed is 250mb/sec

lazarus
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Location: Oberon, OZ

Re: Mint cannot "see" FakeRaid drive on AMD Ryzen system

Post by lazarus » Tue Sep 18, 2018 4:55 am

Huh.

Did you try checking whether mdadm can locate the array? (mdadm is preferred to dmraid, but may not detect Promise RAID adapters, which AMD's fake RAID is based on . Still... worth a try.)

sudo mdadm --assemble --scan

Also, some quirky fake RAIDs fail to be detected when dmraid -l checks for metadata handlers... and yet will still assemble using: sudo dmraid -ay

At worst it wll fail and you'll lose a whole 20 seconds worth of time checking. :)
- Andy

I may be weird but I'm saving up to become eccentric.

User avatar
RedCMD
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:30 pm

Re: Mint cannot "see" FakeRaid drive on AMD Ryzen system

Post by RedCMD » Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:19 am

RIP

Code: Select all

mint@mint:~$ sudo mdadm --assemble --scan
mdadm: No arrays found in config file or automatically

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”