building new computer, can I move current HDD to it?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
marty510
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:26 pm

building new computer, can I move current HDD to it?

Postby marty510 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:47 am

I'm going to build a new computer and was wondering if I can use the hard drive I'm using right at this moment in it................a swap

User avatar
pluraldave
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:05 am

Re: building new computer, can I move current HDD to it?

Postby pluraldave » Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:23 am

So long as you can connect the hard drive to the motherboard and power supply and fit it into the chassis then yes.

User avatar
marty510
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 6:26 pm

Re: building new computer, can I move current HDD to it?

Postby marty510 » Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:27 pm

thought so but didn't know if mint 7 or any other mint would be able to read from a previously installed HDD from my current box.

thanks, marty :D

User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1886
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: building new computer, can I move current HDD to it?

Postby lagagnon » Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:45 am

I am assuming you mean you have Mint installed on the old HDD and you are going to place that HDD in a new computer, with a different motherboard and other different hardware. It may work and it may not. Depends if Mint recognizes all the new hardware and loads appropriate modules. Don't expect it to work out of the box in other words. But then again it just might.


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests