Low on Disk Space - questions about Timeshift and snap

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
neckenth

Low on Disk Space - questions about Timeshift and snap

Post by neckenth »

Hi everyone -

I know there are a bunch of questions on here regarding disk space and Timeshift, but I feel as though disk space issues can be pretty individualized, so - as a total novice - I wanted to check in before I break anything.

I am running Linux Mint 18.3 dual booted onto a Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga 260 - 8 GiB of RAM. I really only use this computer for programming and regular internet stuff - I don't make a ton of system configuration changes at this point (not since I first set it up in March and a few periodic changes and updates since then). I have Timeshift running backups, and until recently, my Schedule was set to keep 5 daily backups and 5 boot backups. This is clearly far too much since I rarely make system changes, so I changed the settings to just keep 1 daily and 1 boot.

Also, when I initially set up this system, I wanted to install Spotify, and I did so via snap, which was pretty unnecessary.

Timeshift seems to be wreaking havoc on my disk space, and snap is saving things to /dev/loop devices. Really unclear what that is all about. (See attached screenshots.)

A few questions:

1 - Is it safe to delete old Timeshift backups? Since these are incremental backups, I imagine that deleting an older backup but keeping a new one would leave me missing things. I clearly have too many, and the only sizeable ones are the one from today (10/20) and the one from 3/5. It would be great if I could free up some space there, but I'm not sure what's safe. Can I just make a backup today and save it to a USB stick and delete at least the old backups?