Check RAM

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
borgward
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1183
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Check RAM

Post by borgward »

How do I check RAM? I upgraded from 1.5 GB to 4 GB. Mint 18 Cinnamon (mattgradient) White mid 2007 Macbook. Only Linux installed. I know only 3 GB will be seen. I installed memtester but have not run it yet. The command line would be sudo memtester 2900 5? (2.9 GiB = 2900 MB). Do I test for how much RAM the system sees, or for the entire 4 GB of RAM installed. I am wondering what is limiting the RAM to 3 GB since the processor and Mint are both 64bit? There is no Mac OS on the computer. Could something in the chipset be the culprit? Is there a better way to check the RAM?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
kc1di
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8147
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Check RAM

Post by kc1di »

I like htop

Code: Select all

sudo apt install htop
Then in terminal

Code: Select all

htop
you can also use

Code: Select all

inxi -m
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/ Pjotr's Great Linux projects page.
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608
borgward
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1183
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Check RAM

Post by borgward »

Sorry, I should have asked how to test RAM.
redlined

Re: Check RAM

Post by redlined »

hi borgward!

You should see memtest86+ option if you boot from Grub (hold shift key during initial boot process to access grub if this is single OS system), you might also consider booting from USB live session to run the test without nice and clean like! these two discussions may help with that if you have issue:

How do I run memtest86+?
Brand New to Ubuntu, how to find memory test?

if you want to test memory while LM is running you'll want root to run the test. start by sudo apt install memtester then sudo memtester 4000 5 where "4000" is the decimal amount (4096 would be the binary amount) of RAM you have installed in megabytes and "5" is the number of times you want the test to run.

see this article for the advice given above: How to Test the RAM on Linux

but I'm not really sure that will help you figure out why you only see 3GB of the 4 installed. I'd for sure try boot to memtest86+ from grub or LM live session disk/usb

did you try kc1di's advice?

it may help see what linux sees and says is available.

Code: Select all

anyuser@f023:~$ inxi -m
Memory:    Using dmidecode: root required for dmidecode
anyuser@f023:~$ sudo inxi -m
Memory:    Used/Total: 2648.7/7871.8MB
           Array-1 capacity: 8 GB devices: 2 EC: None
           Device-1: Bottom-Slot 1(top) size: 8 GB speed: 1066 MT/s type: DDR3
           Device-2: Bottom-Slot 2(under) size: No Module Installed type: N/A
( sudo inxi -mxxx will show extra details like " type: DDR3 (Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)) bus width: 64 bits"


Hope this helps!
redlined

Re: Check RAM

Post by redlined »

hi borgward!

You should see memtest86+ option if you boot from Grub (hold shift key during initial boot process to access grub if this is single OS system), you might also consider booting from USB live session to run the test without nice and clean like! these two discussions may help with that if you have issue:

How do I run memtest86+?
Brand New to Ubuntu, how to find memory test?

if you want to test memory while LM is running you'll want root to run the test. start by sudo apt install memtester then sudo memtester 4000 5 where "4000" is the decimal amount (4096 would be the binary amount) of RAM you have installed in megabytes and "5" is the number of times you want the test to run.

see this article for the advice given above: How to Test the RAM on Linux

but I'm not really sure that will help you figure out why you only see 3GB of the 4 installed. I'd for sure try boot to memtest86+ from grub or LM live session disk/usb

did you try kc1di's advice?

it may help see what linux sees and says is available.

Code: Select all

anyuser@f023:~$ inxi -m
Memory:    Using dmidecode: root required for dmidecode
anyuser@f023:~$ sudo inxi -m
Memory:    Used/Total: 2648.7/7871.8MB
           Array-1 capacity: 8 GB devices: 2 EC: None
           Device-1: Bottom-Slot 1(top) size: 8 GB speed: 1066 MT/s type: DDR3
           Device-2: Bottom-Slot 2(under) size: No Module Installed type: N/A
( sudo inxi -mxxx will show extra details like " type: DDR3 (Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)) bus width: 64 bits"


Hope this helps!
borgward
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1183
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Check RAM

Post by borgward »

redlined wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:41 pm hi borgward!

You should see memtest86+ option if you boot from Grub (hold shift key during initial boot process to access grub if this is single OS system), you might also consider booting from USB live session to run the test
Shift key does not bring up GRUB on MacBook.
inxi -m
Memory: No dmidecode memory data: try newer kernel.

Ran memtester, decided memtest86 was the way to go.

redlined wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:41 pmbut I'm not really sure that will help you figure out why you only see 3GB of the 4 installed. I'd for sure try boot to memtest86+ from grub or LM live session disk/usb
I suspect there is something in the Mac hardware that prevents any OS from accessing all the memory. Mattgradient version of mint might have some code in it to trick the MacBook to think it is booting the apple OS.
redlined wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:41 pmdid you try kc1di's advice?
Yes


redlined wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:41 pmit may help see what linux sees and says is available.

Code: Select all

anyuser@f023:~$ inxi -m[/quote]
inxi -m
Memory:    No dmidecode memory data: try newer kernel.

[quote=redlined post_id=1563078 time=1544305311 user_id=234554]anyuser@f023:~$ sudo inxi -m
$ sudo inxi -m
[sudo] password for user 
Memory:    Array-1 capacity: 4 GB devices: 2 EC: None
           Device-1: DIMM0 size: 2 GB speed: 667 MHz type: DDR2
           Device-2: DIMM1 size: 2 GB speed: 667 MHz type: DDR2

( sudo inxi -mxxx will show extra details like " type: DDR3 (Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)) bus width: 64 bits"
$ sudo inxi -mxxx
Memory: Array-1 capacity: 4 GB devices: 2 EC: None
Device-1: DIMM0 size: 2 GB speed: 667 MHz type: DDR2 (Synchronous)
bus width: 64 bits
manufacturer: 0x7F7FFE0000000000 part: 0x4542453231554538414653412D38472D4620 serial: 0x5108CA1F
Device-2: DIMM1 size: 2 GB speed: 667 MHz type: DDR2 (Synchronous)
bus width: 64 bits
manufacturer: 0x7F7FFE0000000000 part: 0x4542453231554538414653412D38472D4620 serial: 0x5A210D0B

I shutdown and ran memtest from the install DVD. memtest saw 2 2GB sticks. looks like it only tested 3 GB of RAM:
testing 1024M of 3055M 100% M of 3052M. Memtest indicated no errors in any case. I usually buy Crucial RAM, but did not want to invest much in the MacBook so I bought cheap RAM off eBay.
redlined

Re: Check RAM

Post by redlined »

hi borgward!

I did not understand the system setup but do see that now upon reread of your initial post. Linux "sees" the 4GB so this is all very weird to me, add in my belief/perception that mac has "special needs" when it comes to hardware upgrades and I'm really at a loss for what's going on there, way above my paygrade to even begin to troubleshoot the issue especially considering I've never heard of Mattgradient version of Linux Mint before :oops:

Please continue to monitor this thread for others who may have thoughts to share. I'd try and edit the original post title to include LM on macbook or some such to catch the eye of such discerning forum members- check RAM is kinda vague. Also consider pasting the results from inxi -Fxz in your next reply as many prefer to know what hardware and OS mix they are helping with.

unrelated- fyi, I also see my last reply was posted in duplicate, weird... going to try and delete that extra one.
borgward
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1183
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Check RAM

Post by borgward »

$ inxi -Fxz
System: Host: xyz-MacBook Kernel: 4.4.0-140-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) Distro: Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Machine: System: Apple product: MacBook2 1 v: 1.0
Mobo: Apple model: Mac-F4208CAA v: PVT Bios: Apple v: MB21.88Z.00A5.B07.0706270922 date: 06/27/07
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 T7400 (-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 8644
clock speeds: max: 2167 MHz 1: 1667 MHz 2: 1667 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x800@59.91hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-140-generic
Network: Card-1: Marvell 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: sky2 v: 1.30 port: 1000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR5418 Wireless Network Adapter [AR5008E 802.11(a)bgn] (PCI-Express)
driver: ath9k bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: wls1 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (11.3% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: FUJITSU_MHY2120B size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 14G used: 8.0G (62%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: /home size: 93G used: 1.3G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 58.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 189 Uptime: 2:49 Memory: 757.1/2977.1MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35

These era MacBooks were 32bit/64bit hybrids. The processor is 64bit. The Mac OS was 32bit. That was because there was a large inventory of 32bit things and there was little 64 bit stuff developed for the Mac. The next OS whatever was 64 bit. That angered a lot of people because a lot of the things that people held dear would not work w/the newer OS. You can not boot a 64bit live disk on these MacBooks. You can boot 32 bit live disks but will have problems installing them. That's where mattgradient comes in The Mattgradient versions of mint have code added to fool the MacBook so you can install mint on it. I found out about mattgradient here at the mint forums or linux questions forum. I think this is partly a question of apple maintaining their own harem. I think in some ways apple is as bad as Mirosoft. I really hate not having a fully functionable keyboard. I am working on this MacBook to give it to someone that is tired of paying the apple tax.
User avatar
kc1di
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8147
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Check RAM

Post by kc1di »

I think you may have hit on the problem , It's the Mac High-bird 32 bit thing - 32 bit machines would only recognize 3 GB of ram. and thus that is what this machine is recognizing.

Code: Select all

Memory: 757.1/2977.1MB
even if the processor is 64 bit if the bios is 32 bit it's not likely to recognize more than 3 GBs. I don't run an Mac so don't know if there would be any fix for that problem available. If there was a solution it would most likely mean a bios update. Which I'm not sure was ever offered for that machine.
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/ Pjotr's Great Linux projects page.
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608
redlined

Re: Check RAM

Post by redlined »

wow, I had forgotten about max ram in 32 bit was a sum total of all memory on system (installed ram, on board video mem, acpi, etc) and from inxi reslts would have never guessed seeing the 64 bit kernel in use (although the 2007 bios date could be a flag waving at me!).

Is it not possible to open that up using PAE somehow? if even to use a bit more say in some ramdisk or similar sort of function?
borgward
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1183
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Check RAM

Post by borgward »

The MacBook has Intel EFI. Does not have apple ROM or BIOS I assume the EFI is in a chip on the mobo. I assume the EFI is coded to only make 3GB of RAM available. I just booted a drive from another computer in it that has Mint 19 Cinnamon 64bit on it. That drive has never had anything Mac on it. That drive only sees 3 GB of RAM. Appears the limitation is because of the chipset
Locked

Return to “Hardware Support”