Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria [SOLVED]

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:46 pm

Now terminal says nothing, when i give this:

Code: Select all

sudo chmod a+rw /dev/bus/usb/001/006


And Xsane finds nothing...

EDIT: Xsane gives these possible reasons why it doesn't find anything:
Image

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Husse » Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:38 pm

To be sure - have you tried this?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:35 am

Husse wrote:To be sure - have you tried this?
Yes i have. No changes... :?:

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Husse » Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:21 am

Ouch - I'm out of suggestions for now
Have to come back later
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:55 pm

Husse wrote:Ouch - I'm out of suggestions for now
I just wonder why this Canon model is ranked in "works perfectly in Linux" category in the OpenPrinting web site? Or maybe i've missed some really basic thing in this operation to get the scanner working... Let's see. Usb -cabel is connected, because i can print. Both machines, the pc and the printer are on, because i can print. :D Other than that i'm not sure of everything. Well, i'm sure that i have Xsane- and sane -named programs in my system.

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:51 am

Eesaurus wrote:Well, i'm sure that i have Xsane- and sane -named programs in my system.
What about sane-backend or something like that? I've read somewhere about that, but didn't understand that much of it. If i have sane, do i automatically have sane-backend also? And if i do, should i do something about it, configure it or put it in some exact place in my system etc...? Sorry, i'm just tumbling in the dark... :roll:

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:43 am

Up.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Husse » Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:23 am

If you have SANE you might have SANE backend which basically is the driver
This brings the question - have you installed any driver? (for the scanner)
The Open Printing database only talks about the printer part of multifunction devices
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:00 am

Husse wrote:If you have SANE you might have SANE backend which basically is the driver
This brings the question - have you installed any driver? (for the scanner)
The Open Printing database only talks about the printer part of multifunction devices
I think i have Sane, because when i did

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install sane
terminal said i allready have it. And i do have sane-backends -named folder in my home directory. Though i have no clue what to do with it.

No, i haven't installed any driver for the scanner, didn't know it was necessary. I just figured that one machine, one driver. Silly me... :)

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Husse » Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:17 am

I made the same mistake with my Brother multifunction
I think you have what's necessary for the rest in this topic
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:41 am

Hmmm, but nothing's changed even if i do have sane and sane-backend etc... I tried every code mentioned in this topic, no scanner. Then i put my tv card back (don't ask why, i'm desperate...) to it's place and tried everything again, and now 'scanimage -L' and Xsane finds something, surprise, they find my Asus tv card. But no scanner...

I'm beginning to think this is operation impossible. I wonder if the shop would take the damn machine back.

What about that link in my first post in this chain? That "Give your scanner a new fresh SANE installation ..." -thing...?

I hate to tease you guys with this...again and again...but i don't know what else to do.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Husse » Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:57 am

Please take a look here
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:32 am

Husse wrote:Please take a look here
My brain is kind of jammed at the moment with this scanner -thing. Can't think straight... I guess i should take a break, breath deep couple of days and get back to it when i'm cooled down. :) I'll then read that article again.

Still, if someone has a 'straight to the point' -answer to this, i'm very pleased.

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:04 am

I've had help with this case in the Finnish Ubuntu -forum also, but no luck. The lack of the usb -rights (permissions or something like that) was the best guess there. No solution for that one though.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Husse » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:15 am

Sad - it's the permissions for USB one way or the other no doubt
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:11 am

Good news, kind of. I tried MX300 with the Ubuntu 9.10 live-cd, and everything, scanner too worked like a charm straight away. So, i'm going to use the live-cd with my scannings until things get better with Mint too. No energy and interest to hassle with this anymore.

I'm going to peek in this topic now and then though, just in case.

Thanks anyway!

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria

Post by Eesaurus » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:23 am

I have Mint 8 now and my Pixma MX300's scanner works fine with it (of course), so this case is closed.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Canon Pixma MX300 scanner in Gloria [SOLVED]

Post by Husse » Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:18 pm

Yes scanners is one thing that was supposed to work better with the newer kernels
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”