[SOLVED] Can i use my Leadtek DTV1000 T

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
forger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:38 pm

[SOLVED] Can i use my Leadtek DTV1000 T

Postby forger » Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:30 pm

Hi
I am quite a noob with Linux (experienced PC builder and user) but have had some success with Mint 6 learning the ropes. Now I want to convert a machine to Mint 6 from Windows. However it is only worth doing if I can get my Leadtek DTV1000 T card running for viewing and PVR.

I have read the thread "List of support TV tuner card on Linux mint and How to" but my card is not listed and the how to bit went over my head.

So can I use my card? If so how, in easy steps please, can I go about it. I am using Mint in the main edition using Gnome.

Hope you can take me forward on this.
Last edited by forger on Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Just moved from Mint 12 to Mint 13. Too newbie to do without a GUI

User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1886
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Can i use my Leadtek DTV1000 T

Postby lagagnon » Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:03 pm

I typed in the name of your card + Ubuntu into Google and there are a bunch of hits at various forums showing that that card works with the V4L (?) driver. As Mint is a Ubuntu base it should work, but I leave the details of checking those posts up to you.

forger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: Can i use my Leadtek DTV1000 T

Postby forger » Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:07 pm

Thanks for pointing me to help elsewhere, which was helpful

Actually I installed Kaffeine and the TV card worked straight away, well on viewing anyway. I have yet to get fully to grips with programmed recordings.

BTW how do I mark the topic as solved
Just moved from Mint 12 to Mint 13. Too newbie to do without a GUI

User avatar
richyrich
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6795
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Can i use my Leadtek DTV1000 T

Postby richyrich » Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:51 pm

Hi forger, good news . . . :D . . glad it's working!
When you log in you can go up to your original post and click Edit. There you just have to add [SOLVED] to the Subject line.

regards, Richy
Image


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Zelaven and 14 guests