SOLVED: I added a new SSD to my laptop. I don't see it listed under Devices and cannot access it at all

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
James_Smith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:41 pm

SOLVED: I added a new SSD to my laptop. I don't see it listed under Devices and cannot access it at all

Post by James_Smith »

Here's my computer's information:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: mac-Alienware-15-R3 Kernel: 4.15.0-45-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.9 
  Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: Alienware product: Alienware 15 R3 v: 1.2.4 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Alienware model: Alienware 15 R3 v: A00 serial: <filter> 
  UEFI [Legacy]: Alienware v: 1.2.4 date: 01/25/2018 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 55.1 Wh condition: 62.7/99.0 Wh (63%) 
  model: COMPAL PABAS0241231 status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-7700HQ bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Kaby Lake rev: 9 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 44928 
  Speed: 2469 MHz min/max: 800/3800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1156 2: 1538 
  3: 1520 4: 1546 5: 1651 6: 1502 7: 1497 8: 1461 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel vendor: Dell driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Device-2: NVIDIA GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060 Mobile] vendor: Dell 
  driver: N/A bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting 
  unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.2 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel CM238 HD Audio vendor: Dell driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-45-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2500 Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Dell 
  driver: alx v: kernel port: d000 bus ID: 3c:00.0 
  IF: enp60s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter 
  vendor: Bigfoot Networks driver: ath10k_pci v: kernel port: d000 
  bus ID: 3d:00.0 
  IF: wlp61s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
  Device-3: Atheros type: USB driver: btusb bus ID: 1-5:3 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 4.55 TiB used: 2.44 TiB (53.6%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WDS200T2B0B size: 1.82 TiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WDBNCE0010PNC  size: 931.51 GiB 
  ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Western Digital model: WDS200T2B0B-00YS70 size: 1.82 TiB 
  Message: No Optical or Floppy data was found. 
RAID:
  Hardware-1: Intel SATA Controller [RAID mode] driver: ahci v: 3.0 
  bus ID: 00:17.0 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 1.79 TiB used: 1.22 TiB (68.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 41.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 243 Uptime: 1m Memory: 15.54 GiB used: 744.0 MiB (4.7%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27
As you can see, I have three SSDs. ID-2 is a 1TB that's dedicated to W10. My 2TB designated ID-1 is my Linux SSD. The other one, ID-3 (also a 2TB) is the new one.

Any clue on how to access it?
Last edited by James_Smith on Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
sudo apt-get --purge remove macOS

User avatar
philotux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Utopia

Re: I added a new SSD to my laptop. I don't see it listed under Devices and cannot access it at all

Post by philotux »

If you have already created a partition table, one(some)partition(s) and have formatted it (them), then the next step would be to mount it at a convenient mount point in the file system in order for it to be accessible.

You could use Gparted to create the partition table, the partitions and do the formatting. If you need to share the partition between Linux and Windows then you format it as NTFS, otherwise if its going to be accessed only from Linux, format it as EXT4.

James_Smith
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:41 pm

Re: I added a new SSD to my laptop. I don't see it listed under Devices and cannot access it at all

Post by James_Smith »

philotux wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 6:54 am
If you have already created a partition table, one(some)partition(s) and have formatted it (them), then the next step would be to mount it at a convenient mount point in the file system in order for it to be accessible.

You could use Gparted to create the partition table, the partitions and do the formatting. If you need to share the partition between Linux and Windows then you format it as NTFS, otherwise if its going to be accessed only from Linux, format it as EXT4.
Hurray! That worked. I don't know why I didn't think of that. I've done that before (albeit a few years ago).
sudo apt-get --purge remove macOS

User avatar
philotux
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 833
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Utopia

Re: SOLVED: I added a new SSD to my laptop. I don't see it listed under Devices and cannot access it at all

Post by philotux »

That's great!

If you think you need the new device to be auto-mounted at boot, then you will need to create a new mount point (a dirctory) and make an entry for the device in your /etc/fstab defining where (and how) it is going to be mounted.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”