Replaced RAM - now seeing old+new - how?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
mmikulic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:29 pm

Replaced RAM - now seeing old+new - how?

Post by mmikulic » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:45 pm

Hey guys,
I have a really weird issue, that I would like to get to bottom of.
I have an old ASUS X751L laptop running Mint 18.
Since I bought it years ago, it had 4 GB of RAM. So recently I decided to upgrade is since I'm running some stuff of it.
Problem being, motherboard only has one slot for RAM.
I ordered a new 8 GB RAM from China, and replaced 4GB with 8 GB.
I boot the laptop to confirm all is fine and then:

Code: Select all

# free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          11892        1775        8769          39        1348        9771
Swap:          3979           0        3979
First I thought the 8 GB of RAM was tampered and that there is actually not that much, or I was scammed on eBay.
But on

Code: Select all

lshw
I'm seeing this in memory section

Code: Select all

     *-memory
          description: System Memory
          physical id: c
          slot: System board or motherboard
          size: 12GiB
        *-bank:0
             description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1600 MHz (0,6 ns)
             vendor: Hynix/Hyundai
             physical id: 0
             serial: 00000000
             slot: ChannelA-DIMM0
             size: 4GiB
             width: 64 bits
             clock: 1600MHz (0.6ns)
        *-bank:1
             description: DIMM [empty]
             product: [Empty]
             vendor: [Empty]
             physical id: 1
             serial: [Empty]
             slot: ChannelA-DIMM1
        *-bank:2
             description: DIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1600 MHz (0,6 ns)
             product: HMT41GS6MFR8C-PB
             vendor: Hynix/Hyundai
             physical id: 2
             serial: 291DE715
             slot: ChannelB-DIMM0
             size: 8GiB
             width: 8 bits
             clock: 1600MHz (0.6ns)
        *-bank:3
             description: DIMM [empty]
             product: [Empty]
             vendor: [Empty]
             physical id: 3
             serial: [Empty]
             slot: ChannelB-DIMM1
It shows both the RAM I took out and the one I've put in.
I know that sometimes non existing ports can be shown, but non existing memory?
I'm not sure what happens when system tries to use 10 GB for example, without OOM killer killing the application because it thinks there is RAM there?
Tnx in advance!

mmikulic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:29 pm

Re: Replaced RAM - now seeing old+new - how?

Post by mmikulic » Tue Apr 09, 2019 4:05 pm

Close this please.

I'm an idiot :D

But to explain why.

This laptop is over 5 years old and obviously I have at some point scavenged from an even older laptop of mine 1 GB of RAM (had one that had 3 GB that died).
I've added it to this laptop, but totally forgot about that. Obviously it was incompatible with this motherboard so the system never recognized it or it died or whatever.

The motherboard actually has 4 GB integrated memory and one additional slot. So I took out dead RAM and wondered why I still have 4 GB integrated one.

So in the end, now I do actually have 12 GB of RAM total on that laptop.

Dot_mdb
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:16 pm

Re: Replaced RAM - now seeing old+new - how?

Post by Dot_mdb » Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:38 pm

We've all been there many times.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”