about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300 [Half-Solved]

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
ebaut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:09 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300 [Half-Solved]

Postby ebaut » Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:50 am

good evening :)

I have two problems with hardware on my desktop PC.
I`m using Mint 7 Main edition 32 bit (for better software support).

first problem with ati video.. driver "ATI CCC 9.3" from http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/linux/Legacy/Pages/radeon_linux.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.7&lang=English
won`t install :\

I`ve used "sudo sh ./ati-driver-installer-9.2-x86.x86_64.run"

Code: Select all

Error: ./default_policy.sh does not support version
default:v2:i686:lib::none:2.6.28-11-generic; make sure that the version is being
correctly set by --iscurrentdistro


and with cpu: one day I`ve install Avant Window Navigator. and cpu frequency plugin.
It shows that my athlon x64 3800+ works only on 1 GHz, but the normal is 2.4 GHz
p.s. maybe it`s the reason that my PC plays video slowly then it was with xp T_T

I`ve tried to download -linux_frequency_driver-2.10.0.tar.bz2 (25 KB)
from http://en.kioskea.net/telecharger/telecharger-1314-driver-for-amd-athlon-fx

but I doesn`t know how to install this :D
there are 2 files: powernow-k8.c and powernow-k8.h
in readme file there is no answer :(

thanks for watching.
Last edited by ebaut on Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ebaut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:09 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300

Postby ebaut » Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:52 am

damn! I saw a small text in readme :D

Code: Select all

The powernow-k8.c and powernow-k8.h files should be
placed in the arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq directory.
The kernel will then need to be rebuilt and the system
rebooted.  Builds of the 64-bit arch/x86_64 kernel use
the same source files.

For further documentation, see the
linux/Documentation/cpu-freq directory.


okay, but I`ve not found this path and how can I rebuilt the kernel? :shock: F1!

ebaut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:09 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300

Postby ebaut » Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:04 am

I`ve tried to install powernowd from synaptic.

Code: Select all

powernowd: PowerNow Daemon v1.00, (c) 2003-2008 John Clemens
powernowd: Found 1 scalable unit:  -- 1 'CPU' per scalable unit
powernowd:   cpu0: 1000Mhz - 2400Mhz (15 steps)


may it help to increase cpu speed?

User avatar
richyrich
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6959
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300

Postby richyrich » Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:51 pm

Your cpu frequencies are a feature in AMD cpu chips. And it is working properly. It's called Cool'n'Quiet. You can read about it at AMD.
As soon as you start using a program, the cpu automatically spools up to the full 2400 Mhz., and as soon as the full power is not required, drops back to 1000 Mhz.
Thus saving power! Try running an action game, and I bet you are getting full power.
This is normal operating for these "Cool'n'Quiet" capable CPU/Motherboard combos.

The ATI problem, is you are trying to install a driver for a different Linux Kernel version. You need one that matches your kernel.

ebaut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:09 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300

Postby ebaut » Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:56 pm

richyrich wrote:Your cpu frequencies are a feature in AMD cpu chips. And it is working properly. It's called Cool'n'Quiet. You can read about it at AMD.
As soon as you start using a program, the cpu automatically spools up to the full 2400 Mhz., and as soon as the full power is not required, drops back to 1000 Mhz.
Thus saving power! Try running an action game, and I bet you are getting full power.
This is normal operating for these "Cool'n'Quiet" capable CPU/Motherboard combos.

The ATI problem, is you are trying to install a driver for a different Linux Kernel version. You need one that matches your kernel.


oh, thanks :D now I understood :)
there is no drivers that matches :(
is there any non-ATI video driver?

User avatar
richyrich
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6959
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300

Postby richyrich » Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:39 pm

Yup, I think you are right! :(
The kernel that Mint 7 / Jaunty is based on has a well documented bug for older ATI cards. (the forums are filled with them). ATI has since released their source code, and I'm sure the upstream developers are working on new drivers, which will hopefully show up soon. I know, it doesn't help you now! but you may have to stick with the included open-source driver. :?

Does EnvyNG recommend any drivers?

Richard

PS: I don't recommend it, but you may be able to disable Cool'n'Quiet in your BIOS.

ebaut
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:09 pm
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: about AMD Athlon x64 & ATI Radeon X1300

Postby ebaut » Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:01 pm

thank you, Richard, I`ll wait for drivers :)

/me want to made a program like ndiswrapper, but not only for wifi.. for all windows drivers.. :twisted:


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests