Power management

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Richardj
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:18 pm
Location: Gosport, Hampshire. UK

Power management

Post by Richardj » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:44 am

Hello every one,
I have a problem with power management, I have it set to the following:
Put computer to sleep when inactive for: Never
Put display to sleep when inactive for: Never

The above doesn't do any thing, If I leave it for a short while the display goes off, then when I wake it I have to sign back in. The computer part does seem to work.

Any ideas please?

Richard

RIH
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 486
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:47 am

Re: Power management

Post by RIH » Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:48 am

I think that you need to neutralise the screen saver as well...
Aspire-TC-705 Kernel: 4.15.0-70-generic x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.3
Distro: Linux Mint 19.2

Richardj
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:18 pm
Location: Gosport, Hampshire. UK

Re: Power management

Post by Richardj » Fri Oct 11, 2019 6:01 am

RIH wrote:
Thu Oct 10, 2019 6:48 am
I think that you need to neutralise the screen saver as well...
I don't have a screen saver running.

gittiest personITW
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Power management

Post by gittiest personITW » Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:51 pm

Hi,
Can you check in BIOS that there is an ACPI option and whether it is turned on or off.
Try the (un)/ticking it depending on what is chosen at the moment. That would be interesting to know.
Don't suppose you ever had another OS on that computer did you? Did the same happen?

Richardj
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:18 pm
Location: Gosport, Hampshire. UK

Re: Power management

Post by Richardj » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:59 am

gittiest personITW wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 4:51 pm
Hi,
Can you check in BIOS that there is an ACPI option and whether it is turned on or off.
Try the (un)/ticking it depending on what is chosen at the moment. That would be interesting to know.
Don't suppose you ever had another OS on that computer did you? Did the same happen?
Hi,
I dual boot with windows 10, that doesn't do it. I'll have a look in the bios later.

Many thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”