Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
marcyustin
Level 1
Level 1

System on an hard disk and data on another

Post by marcyustin »

I'm a newbie and today I finally solved my problems with my computer, so before damaging some I need your help!

I have two internal hard disks:
  • SSD 256 GB
    NOT SSD 640 GB
On the first is installed Linux Mint. I need that system will be on the SSD disk, as is now, but data on the NOT SSD disk.

I imagine I have to use GParted. But how?

LanceM
Level 9
Level 9

Re: System on an hard disk and data on another

Post by LanceM »

Where is you data now? How much data in GB? Normally, you would format the other drive with Disks to Ext4, and transfer your data there.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php

Flemur
Level 18
Level 18

Post by Flemur »

marcyustin wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 4:02 pm
On the first is installed Linux Mint. I need that system will be on the SSD disk, as is now, but data on the NOT SSD disk.
Internet search on linux data partition

2nd result = "HOWTO: Create & Use a Separate DATA Partition" on Mint website:
https://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/1609

3rd result = "DATA Partition best practices" in this forum
viewtopic.php?t=266314
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

marcyustin
Level 1
Level 1

Post by marcyustin »

LanceM wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 12:23 pm
Where is you data now? How much data in GB? Normally, you would format the other drive with Disks to Ext4, and transfer your data there.
Data are on SSD DIsk. I need to move to NOT SSD Disk

marcyustin
Level 1
Level 1

Post by marcyustin »

Flemur wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:16 pm
marcyustin wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 4:02 pm