Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

I have an old laptop (that I am on currently), it runs ok, it wouldn't run windows so I decided to get Linux Mint Cinnamon 20, and that works well, but my issue is that Linux and windows both wouldn't detect the amount or ram I have installed, I have 6GB the laptop came with 4GB, the OP will only detect 1.4GB on both Linux and windows, my BIOS detects all 6GB, so does the command lines sudo demidecode and so does sudo lshw -short | grep memory detects all, but inxi Fxz doesn't, I've looked everywhere and this seems to be a common problem at least for Mint 17,18 and 19, but I haven't seen anything on 20, does anyone have any advice or a solution to this problem. Thank you very much.
User avatar
Joe2Shoe
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:12 pm
Location: Ozone

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by Joe2Shoe »

"Linux and windows both wouldn't detect the amount or ram I have installed".
Run Memtest to check whether the RAM is bad or not.

Reboot.
Press & Hold Shift key until Grub menu appears.
Select Memtest.
"Tolerance is the refuge of men without conviction."
"Common sense is not so common" - Voltaire
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

I got memtest86 and ran a test, what exactly am I looking for, it also only recognizes the 1.4GB of ram.
jamiemint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:39 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by jamiemint »

Some older motherboards are very particular about how the memory is arranged in the slots, the speed and size of the chips, things like that. You might want to try to find the original documentation for the particular laptop or motherboard and see what they recommend for the type of RAM and sizes.

Another thing you can try is swapping the chips from one bank to the other.

https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... t-detected

Jamie
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

Alright, thank you I’ll be trying that as well
User avatar
LanceM
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by LanceM »

Are they a matched set?
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

No one is a 4GB the other is a 2GB
User avatar
LanceM
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by LanceM »

PC manufactures can test compatibility of modules, so if a Dell ships with 6GB it will use 6GB, but if a module is added an not bought as a set, it may not work at all or have hidden problems. The thing to do is see if you can just use the 4GB and get it to detect that. If so, unless you get a matched set, it's your best avenue. 4GB is enough for most daily use scenarios.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

Alright, thank you I’ll test that out and see how it goes
User avatar
GS3
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1850
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:51 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by GS3 »

There are several issues. One is that if the computer video uses general RAM, and it probably does, then that memory is not available to the OS. Because the issue is exactly the same in Windows and Linux I think this is a very likely. Maybe does not explain everything but might explain part.

Secondly, as has been said, the modules should be matched and this is especially important if the architecture is dual channel, which it probably is.

Can you post the brand and specs of each module?
Please do not use animated GIFs in avatars because many of us find them distracting and obnoxious. Thank you.
User avatar
wallyUSA
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: Top of Georgia

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by wallyUSA »

I agree with GS3! There is more to matching the modules than just the amount of memory. Maybe someone will post how to display the detailed spec of the modules! If I find a way to do it I'll come back.

Wally

by GS3:

Secondly, as has been said, the modules should be matched and this is especially important if the architecture is dual channel, which it probably is.


UPDATE:

Here's a command that may help:

Code: Select all

sudo dmidecode --type 17
May sure to compare
Type:
Type Detail:
Speed:
Ulyana 20 Cinnamon 4.6.7 Kernel 5.4.0-54 (64 bit). {Dell XPS 13}

Please, if your query has been resolved, edit your first post and add <SOLVED> to the beginning of the subject line. This may help others find solutions.
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

Sorry it took me so long to respond to this.

Here is the info you requested:

Handle 0x000C, DMI type 17, 34 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x000B
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 4096 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: DIMM 0
Bank Locator: CHANNEL A
Type: DDR3
Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
Speed: 667 MT/s
Manufacturer: Not Specified
Serial Number: DCD50000
Asset Tag: Asset Tag:
Part Number:
Rank: 2
Configured Memory Speed: 667 MT/s

Handle 0x000D, DMI type 17, 34 bytes
Memory Device
Array Handle: 0x000B
Error Information Handle: Not Provided
Total Width: 64 bits
Data Width: 64 bits
Size: 2048 MB
Form Factor: SODIMM
Set: None
Locator: DIMM 1
Bank Locator: CHANNEL A
Type: DDR3
Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
Speed: 667 MT/s
Manufacturer: ELPIDA
Serial Number: 00000000
Asset Tag: Asset Tag:
Part Number: Not Specified
Rank: 1
Configured Memory Speed: 667 MT/s
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

I also took out the extra ram I had installed and it still only recognized the 1.4, I put the extra 4 back in and it didn’t fix anything.
gittiest personITW
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2148
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by gittiest personITW »

Can you post the output to

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
Are you using 32bit Cinnamon?
Also, whether you are or not, you might be better off with Xfce or Mate with that hardware.
Anyway, post back and see how it goes.
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by antikythera »

32-bit should still recognise the 6GB because the kernel has PAE support IF the laptop hardware and firmware can recognise more than 4GB of RAM.

The output gittiest asked for should have been posted way earlier in this thread :o
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

I'm using the 64bit version. It does run better with Linux rather than windows by a lot.

Here's the output:

System:
Kernel: 5.4.0-42-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 4.6.7 Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana
base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: Acer product: Aspire V5-122P v: V2.04
serial: <filter>
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-122P v: V2.04 serial: <filter> UEFI: Insyde
v: 2.04 date: 05/10/2013
Battery:
ID-1: BAT0 charge: 17.0 Wh condition: 27.1/30.1 Wh (90%)
model: SANYO AC13C34 status: Charging
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: AMD A4-1250 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Jaguar rev: 1 L2 cache: 1024 KiB
flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
bogomips: 3992
Speed: 798 MHz min/max: 800/1000 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 799 2: 798
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Kabini [Radeon HD 8210] vendor: Acer Incorporated ALI
driver: radeon v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: ati,radeon
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD KABINI (DRM 2.50.0 5.4.0-42-generic LLVM 10.0.0)
v: 4.5 Mesa 20.0.8 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: AMD Kabini HDMI/DP Audio vendor: Acer Incorporated ALI
driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.1
Device-2: AMD FCH Azalia vendor: Acer Incorporated ALI
driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:14.2
Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-42-generic
Network:
Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
vendor: Foxconn driver: ath9k v: kernel port: 2100 bus ID: 01:00.0
IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 465.76 GiB used: 20.03 GiB (4.3%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Toshiba model: MQ01ABF050 size: 465.76 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 456.01 GiB used: 20.02 GiB (4.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
ID-2: swap-1 size: 980.0 MiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 52.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: radeon temp: 36 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 176 Uptime: 3m Memory: 1.39 GiB used: 694.3 MiB (48.8%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17
inxi: 3.0.38
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by antikythera »

hmm, okay so the module may indeed be bad then. There's clearly no way to install a matched pair since one is not removable. You can however get a compatible module from the site below. The processor has a single channel memory controller as per my Athlon 5350 which is also a Kabini.
Maximum memory: 10GB

*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.

Slots: 1 (1 bank of 1)

Standard memory: 4GB (2GB non-removable)
Source: https://www.crucial.com/compatible-upgr ... re-v5-122p
Last edited by antikythera on Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
User avatar
LanceM
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by LanceM »

Being as

Code: Select all

sudo lshw -short | grep memory
shows the memory, try going to the Menu and launching System Monitor. Click the Resources tab and see how much Memory is being used and the total available.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.
Mint accepts donations: https://linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2661
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by antikythera »

There is a newer version of BIOS for that machine but no release notes accompanying it. It may well be for RAM compatibility but either way, it needs flashing from Windows.

top is more accurate than system monitor for seeing RAM stats.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
ACardenas10
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:20 am

Re: Linux not Detecting all my RAM

Post by ACardenas10 »

Thank you for all your help guys, I’ll see what I can do, hope you all have an amazing night or day 😝
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”