Before you post please read how to get help
ImWolf
Level 2
Level 2

[SOLVED] Not able to resolve display (driver) issue

Post by ImWolf »

Linux Mint 19.2 x64
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GT Graphics

I'm very new to Linux, and recently needed to re-install due to a hard drive failure. As I'm still slowly migrating away from MS Windows, I have not used Linux very much. When I first set out to try and resolve my video issues a few days ago, I failed to document every web page I read, and every key stroke I typed into Terminal, or the output.... so that history is lost.

When I hit the Linux Menu button, some of the items listed on the right panel are not legible until I hover the mouse pointer over them. (looks like letters on top of one another). Also, when I scroll web pages or move windows around the contents do not move smoothly at times and are not readable until I stop the motion. I think this is a video acceleration issue?

Driver Manager lists an Nvidia 304.137 driver, (which the Nvidia site describes as the x86 version for my graphics card), and an X.Org X server Nouveau (open source) driver. The X.org driver is selected for use, and I cannot try out the other one due to "Package dependencies cannot be resolved".

So, how do I go about fixing the package dependency error, and then install the most recent or stable driver for my Nvidia card to see if this smooths out the display?

Thanks,
Wolf

[EDIT] Solving this issue involved manually installing an incompatible Nvidia driver along with a 3rd party patch. To go directly to the summary "fix", use this link.

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=328353&start=73
Last edited by ImWolf on Sun Aug 30, 2020 10:57 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Kadaitcha Man
Level 10
Level 10

Re: Not able to resolve display (driver) issue

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

ImWolf wrote:
Wed Aug 19, 2020 3:59 pm
... I did some sort of ... I believe ... I have tried suggestions ... the final message is always similar to ... something like that.