Mount iPAQ3955?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy » Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:56 pm

Hi All :)

I'm trying to get my old iPAQ3955 mounted so I can transfer files to and from it. Not bothered about syncing anything - just want access to the file system on it. I've googled all kinds of stuff over the last few days (including SynCE which I thought sounded good but I couldn't get to work), but being new to Linux I'm finding it all a bit confusing.

Below is a terminal session I had trying to figure things out. I think it shows the iPAQ connecting on ttyUSB0, but like I said I'm new to this:

Code: Select all

daniel@deadbox ~ $ dmesg | tail
[  717.142961] wlan0: ignored AuthFrame in state ASSOC
[ 2736.903107] wlan0: ignored AuthFrame in state ASSOC
[ 2856.899149] wlan0: ignored AuthFrame in state ASSOC
[ 4772.956056] usb 2-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
[ 4773.106415] usb 2-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[ 4773.334810] USB Serial support registered for PocketPC PDA
[ 4773.334906] ipaq 2-2:1.0: PocketPC PDA converter detected
[ 4773.337487] usb 2-2: PocketPC PDA converter now attached to ttyUSB0
[ 4773.337537] usbcore: registered new interface driver ipaq
[ 4773.337543] ipaq: v0.5:USB PocketPC PDA driver
daniel@deadbox ~ $ man mount
daniel@deadbox ~ $ mount /dev/ttyUSB0 /mnt/ipaq
mount: only root can do that
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0 /mnt/ipaq
[sudo] password for daniel:
mount: mount point /mnt/ipaq does not exist
daniel@deadbox ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/fstab
^C
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: can't find /dev/ttyUSB0 in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mkdir /media/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo rm -r /media/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mkdir /mnt/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $
daniel@deadbox ~ $ modprobe usb-storage
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/oss-compat, it will be ignored in a future release.
FATAL: Error inserting usb_storage (/lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/kernel/drivers/usb/storage/usb-storage.ko): Operation not permitted
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo modprobe usb-storage
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/oss-compat, it will be ignored in a future release.
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo mount /dev/ttyUSB0
mount: /dev/ttyUSB0 is not a block device
daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo rm -r /mnt/ipaq
daniel@deadbox ~ $


Here's the output from lsusb:

Code: Select all

daniel@deadbox ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 005: ID 046d:c016 Logitech, Inc. M-UV69a/HP M-UV96 Optical Wheel Mouse
Bus 003 Device 004: ID 077b:2219 Linksys WUSB11 V2.6 802.11b Adapter
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 03f0:1016 Hewlett-Packard Jornada 548 / iPAQ HW6515 Pocket PC
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub


I am using Mint 7 Main (Gnome).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Daniel
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby Husse » Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:50 am

What happened the first time you connected it, before you tried various solutions
It might have opened as a mass storage device
I must say I have no real experience wit an IPAQ even if I have sold them several years ago
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy » Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:23 pm

It didn't seem to register anywhere, although, being new to Linux, I can't say I checked everything. When I mount my Windows drive I get an icon on my desktop, but I got nothing like that for my iPAQ.
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby Husse » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:27 am

You should have SynCE installed

Code: Select all

apt install synce-sync-engine

I think this is what's needed - there may be some other apps/libraries you need to install, I think SynCe will tell you that
You could do a apt search synce to find out all that is related
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:59 am

Looks like I already have it:

Code: Select all

daniel@deadbox ~ $ sudo apt-get install synce-sync-engine
[sudo] password for daniel:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
synce-sync-engine is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 15 not upgraded.
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby Husse » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:18 pm

I don't know how to use it - so I recommend man synce-sync-engine and google
I'll try to help you but I don't own such a device and never have.....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

safetycopy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:44 pm

Re: Mount iPAQ3955?

Postby safetycopy » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:03 pm

Thanks for the offer Husse. I spent several days googling, reading the Ubuntu forums and looking over the SynCE wiki, but had no luck. I didn't know about man pages at the time, and hadn't thought about checking those since, so I'll definitely give that a try. A lot of what I read was aimed at more experienced Linux users, so I have a lot of bookmarks saved to come back to once I've figured out some of the more basic stuff. At the moment, I still have a separate Windows disk, so it's not something I'm urgently working on, although i'd like to reclaim the disk-space and ditch Windows when I can.

For the record, I also tried MS ActiveSync (the software I use from Windows for connecting with the iPAQ) running through Wine, but had no joy with that either.
Llinux Mint 17 XFCE | Acer Aspire One


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Charles123 and 7 guests