No sound and no webcam on MacBook pro - Mint 20.3

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
efwalcker
Level 1
Level 1

No sound and no webcam on MacBook pro - Mint 20.3

Post by efwalcker »

Hi All,

I wanted something better than the Mac OS which started to be annoying with updates and cloud and whatnot, and decided to go with Linux Mint 20.3 on my (I believe 2016) MacBook pro 13 inch. I am not an expert, but usually I am somehow able to figure things out in linux with the help of various websites that can navigate you through the terminal. So I did a fresh installation. My sound is not working, and I tried messing with the pulseaudio, reinstalled it, searched around various forums what might be the problem, and had no luck.

I also noticed that the integrated webcam is not working, when opening Cheese app, it says "No device found".

At first I thought it is something with the drivers, so I opened the Driver Manager that showed a big check mark, with a message "your computer does not need any additional drivers". I remember using an earlier version of Linux mint some time ago, and the Driver Manager would let me choose and pick which driver I want for various hardware like graphics. Does that option exist anywhere?

Any help is very much appreciated!
Thanks!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Reddog1
Level 7
Level 7

Re: No sound and no webcam on MacBook pro - Mint 20.3

Post by Reddog1 »

Please post the inxi report for that macbook.

inxi Fxxrzc0