volume control knob

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

volume control knob

Postby freedomphon » Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:59 pm

i have a toshiba laptop with a manual volume control knob on the side. for some reason it just stopped working. any ideas?

mint 2.6.20-16-generic

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:38 am

Welcome to Mint freedomphon

manual volume control knob on the side.

This is hardware - nothing to do with software.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby freedomphon » Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:37 am

negative it has something to do with software. i have another profile on my laptop and the control knob works fine. in the one profile the control window comes up when i try to use the knob but it only show the sound as mute.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:57 pm

This is interesting. On my wifes Toshiba satellite the volume knob is hardware only as far as I know.
Can you tell me the model as exactly as possible. I think it's to hard (impossible) to find information from Toshiba about this but maybe someone else has the problem and uncle google knows about it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby freedomphon » Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:10 pm

sure thing.

i have a toshiba satelite u205-s5067 PN: PLUA0U-0CK042.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:46 am

Sorry I did not find any information to help us with this.
I found a remark that suggested it is hardware only, that's about it. Toshiba's site was no help - all I could find out is that there is a knob.
You have another profile, you write. Profile - meaning what?
How does it work there?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

freedomphon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 5:52 pm

Postby freedomphon » Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:59 am

i had another user account and it worked fine from there. however i fixed this issue by just reinstalling mint and now everything kinda works.


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JeremyB, MSNbot Media and 3 guests