Needing help with Intel 945GM drivers

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Awesomeish

Needing help with Intel 945GM drivers

Post by Awesomeish »

Hello, sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm completely new to Linux and a lot of things are rather confusing to me :( if someone could please help I'd most appreciative!

I'm having some problems with graphics drivers.. I think. Well, from what I understand, Mint will automatically install the correct drivers for you, though I'm not sure if I have the correct/latest drivers for my (terrible) 945GM graphics. If I try to run something in Wine, then it would either be really blocky, very slow, or just not run at all. If I try to run a native Linux game (Warsow for example), I still get the same problems.

I've tried to download and install (what I believe is) the correct drivers (from here: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/confirm ... *&lang=eng), but I'm really not understanding how to install them :(. I think I need to use the terminal? But as I say, I'm incredibly inexperienced with it :P.

This might be causing other problems too, as Mint is running just a tad bit slower than how I thought it would.

Would installing these drivers help? And if so, how do I do so? :D

And if it helps, here's what I'm using:
Toshiba Satellite laptop dual booting with Mint 8 (main) and Vista
Intel 945 GM graphics
T2080 dual core (1.7 Ghz)
2 GB ram
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17

Re: Needing help with Intel 945GM drivers

Post by remoulder »

Open a terminal and type inxi -G then copy and paste the output in a reply
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.