If your scanner doesn't work

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Dogs1985
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:46 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Dogs1985 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:34 pm

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/164122

is that any upgrade patch to flegita? and is that new version really is 0.6?

http://ftp.gnome.org/pub/GNOME/sources/gnome-scan/0.6/

is that links for upgrade flegita new version?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Husse » Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:50 pm

Seems to be the latest version
You have to compile it - not user friendly and if you do remember to install build essential first
There should be a read me in the tarball
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Dogs1985
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:46 am

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Dogs1985 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:17 pm

Husse wrote:Seems to be the latest version
You have to compile it - not user friendly and if you do remember to install build essential first
There should be a read me in the tarball
can youu compile it become deb files? and make it easy to mintupdate?

David Brown
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by David Brown » Sat May 02, 2009 3:26 pm

Hamrick VueScan supports many, many scanners (including the two I have, Epson and Canon) and comes in versions for Linux, MacOS and Windows. It's not free, but worth what it costs.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Husse » Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:35 am

I see that I had not added the solution for Gloria as I thought I had
This is taken from the Brother support site
1. Open "/lib/udev/rules.d/50-udev-default.rules" file.
2. Edit "0664" to "0666" in "libusb device nodes" section.

Before the edit---------------------------------

# libusb device nodes
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ... , MODE="0664"


After the edit----------------------------------

# libusb device nodes
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ... , MODE="0666"


3. Restart the OS.
This provides read and write for "all"
I have seen someone recommend 0660 for this - I don't think it's right but worth a try if you cant get it to work
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by jaqian » Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:53 am

My HP 5530C Scanjet doesn't work (has never worked under Linux) I'll eventually be replacing it as the glass has gone a bit foggy. What would be a good modern replacement that will work with Linux without messing about.

Cheers,
Rob
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Husse » Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:00 am

I would say HP or Brother
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by jaqian » Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:13 am

Do HP have good Linux support now?
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Husse » Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:18 am

The support for HP printers is excellent, but the support for scanners somewhat lacking, but I think it works
Try to check the compatibility before you buy
Remember that many scanners don't really work well under Windows either
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by jaqian » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:02 am

Husse wrote: Remember that many scanners don't really work well under Windows either
Thats a new one on me. I've seen crappy scanners and good scanners come with crappy software but they always work under Windows. I'd love to see Ubuntu work on getting support built into hardware (printers & scanners) for Ubuntu. Don't really care if support is proprietry or free as long as it works.
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by Husse » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:29 am

OK many scanners have crappy drivers ....
Was a while since I experimented with this but loads of different scanners would not work in XP (hands on experience)
Don't ask me for details - it was when I had my computer business and I do my best to forget it :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by jaqian » Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:43 am

Husse wrote:OK many scanners have crappy drivers ....
Was a while since I experimented with this but loads of different scanners would not work in XP (hands on experience)
Don't ask me for details - it was when I had my computer business and I do my best to forget it :)
Fair enough. I won't try and torture you :) When I get the funds for a new scanner I will check to see if its Linux friendly. My scanner, printer and external harddrive support were the main reason I hadn't switched fully to Linux, now that Mint has solved all other problems, its only the scanner thats holding me back.
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7

Eesaurus
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by Eesaurus » Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:09 am

I solved my scanner problem (Canon Pixma MX300) by installing both, XP and Linux (Mint). Well, i had to install XP anyway because of my atk -studies, but... When i need to scan, which is rare, i boot to XP. Mint is (of course :)) my main os.

This doesn't solve the original problem, i know, but it is one way to go around it.

By the way, my Canon Pixma MX300 scanner works in Ubuntu 9.10. Maybe some other scanners work in it too. 9.10 is still beta, but the final version comes out october 29. I guess the next version of Mint is also better with scanners.

EDIT:

cato40
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:49 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by cato40 » Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:06 pm

Hi:
I also, do the same with my Brother DCP-115C ;use the WinXP for scanning and Mint foe Printing.
cheers,
cato40

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by Husse » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:58 am

Brother has excellent support for Linux printers and scanners, but you have to do a bit of tinkering
The Brother Solution Center has drivers for Linux
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

cato40
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:49 pm

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by cato40 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:19 am

Hi Husse,
Thanks for that. Since I posted, last, I have installed Mint 7 on my Main Tower, and only Mint 7 ,no XP .
I had no trouble installing the Brother DCP-115C as MFC -210C ;I am still trying to find time to enable the Scanner side of it.
My adjacent tower has Mint 7 XFCE ,tad slow , but it works, with an Epson Colorstylus 740, very good.
This tower I call my Test tower, because I use it to try different Distros, and the first thing that I try on any distro is,
Printer compatibility; if it works, good ,if not Well, NEXT. I find the any KDE Distros are not very Epson 740- compatible.
Hope this helps all.
cato40 :D

Victor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 7:47 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by Victor » Sat Dec 12, 2009 11:25 am

Your help is sought: How to install or add the scanner part of HP deskjet F2480 All-In-One printer in Helena?

Good day to all,

As a brand new convert to Mint, my first impression for the installation of Hele na is GREAT! Thank you for making this as seamless as possible for naive users.

I have one problem still: I do not know how to install and/or add the scanner part of my All-In-One HP Deskjet F2480 multifunction pronter.

Thru the web, i gathered the following:
- F2480 needs the HPLIP "something" (excuse my ignorance) version 3.9.10 which is not yet "in" Helena.
- you can define the device as an F735. This is what I did and the printer works fine, at least with a very simple tests.
- Il also understand from this thread that any scanners seems to be problematic?

Could you help? This would be much appreciated.

Victor

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by Husse » Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:33 pm

The version of hplip in Helena is 3.9.8
You can find the latest hplip here
It's very simple to run the installer - quoted from the hplip page
To use the Automatic Installer, follow these steps:

1. Download the file to a convenient location (e.g., home directory or desktop, etc).
2. Open a console/terminal and cd to the location where the installer was downloaded. (e.g., cd ~/Desktop)
3. Type in and run this command: 'sh hplip-3.9.10.run'
And please note that in Mint you can right click and open a terminal and that the terminal has autocomplete - you probably only have to type sh hp + Tab
I mention this because sometimes it seems like an unsurmountable obstacle as son as the terminal is mentioned
If the built in scanner utility doesn't work please try Xsane - you can install it from the software manager
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

georgeg
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:59 am

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Post by georgeg » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:03 pm

Husse wrote: If the built in scanner utility doesn't work please try Xsane - you can install it from the software manager
And if that doesn't work, try Vuescan. Its a commercial application that has a linux version that I have used before and it worked quite well with my old HP 5370c. I haven't tried it yet on Helena but will be trying it tonight.

User avatar
ipernar
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:08 pm
Location: Zagreb Croatia
Contact:

Re: If your scanner don't work

Post by ipernar » Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:54 pm

hotweiss wrote:My Canon scanner is collecting dust thanks to the fact that Canon doesn't think that 30 million Linux users are not important...
Is it that huge community :D?
"Chicks come and go but you will always have your PS3. "

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”