Page 1 of 5

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:17 pm
by Dogs1985
Husse wrote:Seems to be the latest version
You have to compile it - not user friendly and if you do remember to install build essential first
There should be a read me in the tarball
can youu compile it become deb files? and make it easy to mintupdate?

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 3:26 pm
by David Brown
Hamrick VueScan supports many, many scanners (including the two I have, Epson and Canon) and comes in versions for Linux, MacOS and Windows. It's not free, but worth what it costs.

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:35 am
by Husse
I see that I had not added the solution for Gloria as I thought I had
This is taken from the Brother support site
1. Open "/lib/udev/rules.d/50-udev-default.rules" file.
2. Edit "0664" to "0666" in "libusb device nodes" section.

Before the edit---------------------------------

# libusb device nodes
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ... , MODE="0664"


After the edit----------------------------------

# libusb device nodes
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ENV{DEVTYPE}=="usb_device", ... , MODE="0666"


3. Restart the OS.
This provides read and write for "all"
I have seen someone recommend 0660 for this - I don't think it's right but worth a try if you cant get it to work

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:53 am
by jaqian
My HP 5530C Scanjet doesn't work (has never worked under Linux) I'll eventually be replacing it as the glass has gone a bit foggy. What would be a good modern replacement that will work with Linux without messing about.

Cheers,
Rob

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:00 am
by Husse
I would say HP or Brother

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:13 am
by jaqian
Do HP have good Linux support now?

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:18 am
by Husse
The support for HP printers is excellent, but the support for scanners somewhat lacking, but I think it works
Try to check the compatibility before you buy
Remember that many scanners don't really work well under Windows either

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:02 am
by jaqian
Husse wrote: Remember that many scanners don't really work well under Windows either
Thats a new one on me. I've seen crappy scanners and good scanners come with crappy software but they always work under Windows. I'd love to see Ubuntu work on getting support built into hardware (printers & scanners) for Ubuntu. Don't really care if support is proprietry or free as long as it works.

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:29 am
by Husse
OK many scanners have crappy drivers ....
Was a while since I experimented with this but loads of different scanners would not work in XP (hands on experience)
Don't ask me for details - it was when I had my computer business and I do my best to forget it :)

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:43 am
by jaqian
Husse wrote:OK many scanners have crappy drivers ....
Was a while since I experimented with this but loads of different scanners would not work in XP (hands on experience)
Don't ask me for details - it was when I had my computer business and I do my best to forget it :)
Fair enough. I won't try and torture you :) When I get the funds for a new scanner I will check to see if its Linux friendly. My scanner, printer and external harddrive support were the main reason I hadn't switched fully to Linux, now that Mint has solved all other problems, its only the scanner thats holding me back.

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:09 am
by Eesaurus
I solved my scanner problem (Canon Pixma MX300) by installing both, XP and Linux (Mint). Well, i had to install XP anyway because of my atk -studies, but... When i need to scan, which is rare, i boot to XP. Mint is (of course :)) my main os.

This doesn't solve the original problem, i know, but it is one way to go around it.

By the way, my Canon Pixma MX300 scanner works in Ubuntu 9.10. Maybe some other scanners work in it too. 9.10 is still beta, but the final version comes out october 29. I guess the next version of Mint is also better with scanners.

EDIT:

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:06 pm
by cato40
Hi:
I also, do the same with my Brother DCP-115C ;use the WinXP for scanning and Mint foe Printing.
cheers,
cato40

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:58 am
by Husse
Brother has excellent support for Linux printers and scanners, but you have to do a bit of tinkering
The Brother Solution Center has drivers for Linux

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:19 am
by cato40
Hi Husse,
Thanks for that. Since I posted, last, I have installed Mint 7 on my Main Tower, and only Mint 7 ,no XP .
I had no trouble installing the Brother DCP-115C as MFC -210C ;I am still trying to find time to enable the Scanner side of it.
My adjacent tower has Mint 7 XFCE ,tad slow , but it works, with an Epson Colorstylus 740, very good.
This tower I call my Test tower, because I use it to try different Distros, and the first thing that I try on any distro is,
Printer compatibility; if it works, good ,if not Well, NEXT. I find the any KDE Distros are not very Epson 740- compatible.
Hope this helps all.
cato40 :D

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:33 pm
by Husse
The version of hplip in Helena is 3.9.8
You can find the latest hplip here
It's very simple to run the installer - quoted from the hplip page
To use the Automatic Installer, follow these steps:

1. Download the file to a convenient location (e.g., home directory or desktop, etc).
2. Open a console/terminal and cd to the location where the installer was downloaded. (e.g., cd ~/Desktop)
3. Type in and run this command: 'sh hplip-3.9.10.run'
And please note that in Mint you can right click and open a terminal and that the terminal has autocomplete - you probably only have to type sh hp + Tab
I mention this because sometimes it seems like an unsurmountable obstacle as son as the terminal is mentioned
If the built in scanner utility doesn't work please try Xsane - you can install it from the software manager

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:03 pm
by georgeg
Husse wrote: If the built in scanner utility doesn't work please try Xsane - you can install it from the software manager
And if that doesn't work, try Vuescan. Its a commercial application that has a linux version that I have used before and it worked quite well with my old HP 5370c. I haven't tried it yet on Helena but will be trying it tonight.

Re: If your scanner don't work

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:54 pm
by ipernar
hotweiss wrote:My Canon scanner is collecting dust thanks to the fact that Canon doesn't think that 30 million Linux users are not important...
Is it that huge community :D?

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:01 am
by harrylin
Well my scanner Canon Lide 50 doesn't work with Mint 8. :(

What happens is that the scanner is recognized but when I want a preview or scan (with the scanner utility or with Xsane which I also installed by now), the waiting time is infinite. Sometimes (usually not) there is a sound from the scanner motor for 1 second. That's all...

However, it DID work with Mint 6. :x
So I tried the suggestions of this thread as well as other suggestions that I found on Internet - no result. I also tried without result putting an override file that I called 45-basic-permissions.rules in etc/udev/rules.d; but as I didn't really know what I did, it may have been just a long shot in the right direction.

I still hope that someone has a good idea.
Anyone? Somehow it seems that not many people have such problems...

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:21 pm
by mr.magoo
I still have my Brother MFC-490CW and I tried to scan something yesterday and it wouldn't connect to the computer. All the info on my computer and the stuff on getting the printer to work are here. I went to Brother and downloaded from here the brscan 32bit and the scan-key-tool 32bit. installed them with the GDebi Package Installer and still no connection. The scanner doesn't even scan (didn't before, either). Went back and tried to follow the Terminal instructions and kept getting thwarted.

So, what am I doing wrong, pray tell? I'm getting this little bit by little bit and I'm hoping to invest in some professional help once my situation improves. Until then, what specific commands do I need to enter into the Terminal to get this puppy to work?

Thanks.

Re: If your scanner doesn't work

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:55 pm
by mr.magoo
I have some things going on and I'd really like to be able to use the scan function on my printer. I'd create a new topic for it, but I don't want to clutter up the forums. I have enough trouble with this silly-assed machine as it is. Please, take a look at the preceding post and kindly lend a hand to a broken-down old idiot. :roll:

Thank y'all.