[solved]Keyboard Compaq Presario CQ62

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

[solved]Keyboard Compaq Presario CQ62

Post by alfavictory »

Dear All,

I just bought a new Laptop (see subject) install my favorite distro (Mint of course), and find out that I can hardly work with that system...
There is "Functional" keys that naturally must work together with Fn key, but they are not. So if I want press Alt+F2 it will not work, instead of this it deam screen. I press Fn+F2 it doesn't. I press Ctrl+F2 = Deam. Just F2, the same. Looks like Fn button pressed all the time. I check other distros and other Laptops, all the same.
Ple-e-e-ease, somebody, tell me how I can turn it proper way?
Maybe somebody knows which keyboard type I need to choose?
I don't want to install "Uncle Willy" software.

Thanks to all in advance.

Andrii

PS Laptop Compaq Presario CQ62/Linux Mint LMDE (Debian)
Last edited by alfavictory on Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9053
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Keyboard Compaq Presario CQ62

Post by richyrich »

Control Center -> Keyboard -> Layout . . . is there one that you can try in that list ?
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: Keyboard Compaq Presario CQ62

Post by alfavictory »

richyrich wrote:Control Center -> Keyboard -> Layout . . . is there one that you can try in that list ?
Kind of.
There is Internet keyboard for Notebook Compaq (Presario for example) - does not work.
Keyboard for Compaq Notebook (Armada for example) - does not work

Any suggestions? Please...
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: Keyboard Compaq Presario CQ62

Post by alfavictory »

What's happening guys? 38 views no one reply for a week?
I'm still suffering with this problem. Is anybody knows at least a website, where I can find driver or program or HOWTO, to fix this problem?
I need your help, please!!!
alfavictory
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:18 pm

Re: [solved]Keyboard Compaq Presario CQ62

Post by alfavictory »

After ages of reading forums, I met my friend who solved this problem very easy :)
Just Disable function in BIOS to use additional keys without Fn... It was so easy and stupid that I feel so embarrassed :oops:
If somebody had problem like this pls see BIOS first :)
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”