Speaker problems solved

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
neowave607
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:02 pm

Speaker problems solved

Postby neowave607 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:19 pm

Hi :D I'm having a problem with my Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speakers. When I use windows XP BOTH of my speakers work just fine but when I use Linux only one speaker works :(

Any ideas???

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:14 am

I have Z-2300 - no problems in Mint and as you get sound in XP (probably) no hardware error.
Check all your sound settings so that balance is not way towards one end. In Amarok there's a setting for "Speaker arrangement" put it at 2.1 (or "Pass through")
Check everywhere :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2071
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby linuxviolin » Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:02 am

I have a Z-3 Logitech system , also 2.1 speakers, absolutely no problem here whatever the distrib that I tried :D

So I agree with the statement of Husse :roll:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)

neowave607
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:02 pm

Postby neowave607 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:00 pm

Never mind I got it to work. Turns out it was an ID-Ten-T Error (I was using the wrong sound device :oops: ) and now the sound works fine!

It's unfortunate that Creative hasn't released Linux drivers for their X-Fi series of cards yet so I guess I'll have to use my onboard AC97 for now :roll:

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:50 pm

Creative should release drivers about now....
but that has been said before...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
dracorX
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:25 am

sound card

Postby dracorX » Fri Nov 09, 2007 5:55 am

Well, I have it even worse: I have a 800 $ production soundcard with an external shuttle with midi and douzens of input channels - which I can't use as no drivers exist :-( So I do also use my AC97
:.-(


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests