Old Compaq

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Inotamira Orani
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Dumb Old Texas
Contact:

Old Compaq

Post by Inotamira Orani »

I haven an old Compaq that has 384 MB of ram, ATI Radeon 9250 graphics card, 900MHZ AMD Single core processor and an abysmal 20 GB hardrive. Which version of LM would be best to install on this machine or should i stick with XP?
If life had a reset button, hackers would be a nightmare
User avatar
The-Wizard
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4066
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:12 pm
Location: Bedforshire, ENGLAND

Re: Old Compaq

Post by The-Wizard »

ram is a bit tight, processor speed looks ok and 20gb hard-drive is a luxury compared to my 6gb ssd on this my net-book, so i would recommend you try the same distro i am running on here... Mint LXDE


wizard
The idea that Bill Gates has appeared like a knight in shining armour to lead all customers out of a mire of technological chaos neatly ignores the fact that it was he who, by peddling second-rate technology, led them into it in the first place.
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Old Compaq

Post by nunol »

Well, you should use a light weight Mint edition:
- Mint 9 LTS Fluxbox
- Mint 10 LXDE
- Mint XFCE (Debian testing based)
There are other versions available.

Because you only have 384MB make sure you setup a SWAP partition. If you don't know what edition to chose go for Mint 10 LXDE.
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Old Compaq

Post by rob2uk »

Or you could go even lighter
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
User avatar
Inotamira Orani
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Dumb Old Texas
Contact:

Re: Old Compaq

Post by Inotamira Orani »

Thank you, how large should i make the swap partition?
If life had a reset button, hackers would be a nightmare
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Old Compaq

Post by rob2uk »

Usually 2.5 times the size of your RAM, so in your case, 960MB.
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
User avatar
Inotamira Orani
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Dumb Old Texas
Contact:

Re: Old Compaq

Post by Inotamira Orani »

How customizable is LXDE, I like to change pretty much everything aesthetically on any Linux system i have, how kind, or easy is it when it comes to making those kinds of changes
If life had a reset button, hackers would be a nightmare
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Old Compaq

Post by nunol »

Inotamira Orani wrote:How customizable is LXDE, I like to change pretty much everything aesthetically on any Linux system i have, how kind, or easy is it when it comes to making those kinds of changes
Not much... but give it a chance.

LXDE is a simple light weight desktop, if you want something with more features you need to get into XFCE or GNOME. Mint 11 with GNOME installs and runs with 384MB of RAM if you setup the SWAP partition, you can use the "only-ubiquity" boot option to speedup the installation but XFCE is better for that computer.
User avatar
Inotamira Orani
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Dumb Old Texas
Contact:

Re: Old Compaq

Post by Inotamira Orani »

Ok, last question, when i put ubuntu on this computer it was incapable of finding the driver for my graphics card.

Would LM be capable of finding it, if not, where would i go to get it and how would i install it?
If life had a reset button, hackers would be a nightmare
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Old Compaq

Post by nunol »

Hardware Drivers (jockey-gtk) is native to Ubuntu and should work on Mint if the distro is Ubuntu based but not on Debian based Mint.
User avatar
Inotamira Orani
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Dumb Old Texas
Contact:

Re: Old Compaq

Post by Inotamira Orani »

nunol wrote:Hardware Drivers (jockey-gtk) is native to Ubuntu and should work on Mint if the distro is Ubuntu based but not on Debian based Mint.
So it would work in LXDE?
If life had a reset button, hackers would be a nightmare
User avatar
Inotamira Orani
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:17 pm
Location: Dumb Old Texas
Contact:

Re: Old Compaq

Post by Inotamira Orani »

Ok so now i have a new problem, the bios (and no their isn't an update that i can find) doesn't support booting to usb and i have no cd-rs I'm willing to do whatever i may need to to get it to install , i don't have the space for the inside windows installation so the proper is needed.

I have plenty of flash drives and the like to do this, and i've been tampering with grub4dos for quite a few hours trying to get it to boot into the flash drive I've partitioned with unetbootin to no avail, if anyone knows how to get it to work, please let me know as I've been googleing and tampering for hours...
If life had a reset button, hackers would be a nightmare
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Old Compaq

Post by rob2uk »

Inotamira Orani wrote:Ok so now i have a new problem, the bios (and no their isn't an update that i can find) doesn't support booting to usb and i have no cd-rs I'm willing to do whatever i may need to to get it to install , i don't have the space for the inside windows installation so the proper is needed.

I have plenty of flash drives and the like to do this, and i've been tampering with grub4dos for quite a few hours trying to get it to boot into the flash drive I've partitioned with unetbootin to no avail, if anyone knows how to get it to work, please let me know as I've been googleing and tampering for hours...
If the laptop is too old to boot from USB, it's too old to boot from USB. It's as simple as that. GRUB4DOS won't help.
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Old Compaq

Post by nunol »

You need to have some disk space... or you need to look at other distro: DSL, Sliztaz, Puppy, Slax, etc.

Try this to boot from the USB: http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html

There are others ways of installing and other tools:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=65022
http://boot.kernel.org/
http://ultilex.linux-bg.org/
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: Old Compaq

Post by rob2uk »

nunol wrote:You need to have some disk space... or you need to look at other distro: DSL, Sliztaz, Puppy, Slax, etc.

Try this to boot from the USB: http://www.plop.at/en/bootmanager.html

There are others ways of installing and other tools:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=65022
http://boot.kernel.org/
http://ultilex.linux-bg.org/
The laptop doesn't have an option to boot from USB, and he won't use a CD-R. None of those options are of any use.
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
User avatar
nunol
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Old Compaq

Post by nunol »

At least two of the options can use a floppy to boot USB or from the web.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”