External USB drive interfering with internal [solved]

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

External USB drive interfering with internal [solved]

Post by pashabear » Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:10 pm

I have an external hard drive that I use for backup, also have a partition with another flavour of Linux installed (SLED right now). Anyway, the backup (of my fat32 "storage" partition) seems to mess up Mint, it doesn't mount the original (internal) partition properly. Any ideas? I forget how I created the backup, might have been with copy partition in Gparted. Don't know if there might be some identification data that got copied over too (I'm not real literate in the low-level stuff).
Last edited by pashabear on Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:51 am

Could you clarify a bit?
Is the internal partition mounted at all?
If not, I suppose you are not using Mint at the moment.
You say: the backup (of my fat32 "storage" partition)
Does this mean that your back up (on the external drive) is a FAT32 partition, or does it mean that you backed up a FAT32 partition to your external drive (in any file system)? Either way there is no low-level stuff copied as FAT32 doesn't have that (not quite - but what it has is irrelevant here) (Hopefully you don't use fat32 as the file system for Mint)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:40 am

Sorry, I must have posted when tired - that wasn't very clear!
Here's the partitioning scheme of my hard drives:

Internal:
25GB NTFS Windoze partition
1GB Linux Swap partition
1GB EXT3 Puppy Linux partition
4GB EXT3 Mint partition
44GB FAT32 "Storage" partition

External:
65GB Fat32 "Backup" partition (have a copy of the Windoze install in a folder on this also)
4GB EXT3 SLED partition

SO, that's my layout, hope that clarifies the situation. Like I said, I think I originally did a copy of the internal FAT32 partition using Gparted or some such for my backup, but you said there isn't any relevant low-level stuff copied anyway...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:18 am

OK that clarifies to a degree :)
How is your Mint partition mounted - or not mounted.
Also, FAT32 is not a very reliable file system
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:41 am

When you say my Mint partition, do you mean the EXT3 one that Mint is installed to, or the FAT32 partition? I'll have to reboot into Mint to give you a definitive answer on that one.

I realize that FAT32 isn't the greatest, but don't know what to do, since Windoze doesn't handle EXT3 that well, and there are dangers with using NTFS under Linux...

NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 771
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Post by NiksaVel » Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:58 am

I was under the impression mintdisk worked great with NTFS in RW mode...

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Tue Mar 20, 2007 1:28 pm

OK, here's how my partitions are mounted:

Puppy Partition /dev/hda5 => /media/puppy
Storage Partition /dev/hda7 => /media/storage
Windoze Partition /dev/hda2 => /media/windowsc

However, when I plug in my external hard drive, my "storage" icon disappears from my desktop! I get an "EXTERNAL" icon, and a "usbdisk" one, displaying the backup and SLED partitions, respectively.

I see from the Mount command in the shell that it is having trouble with my external drive's FAT32 partition, here's what the output looks like:

Code: Select all

pasha@pooh:~$ mount
/dev/hda6 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
/sys on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
varrun on /var/run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=0755)
varlock on /var/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=1777)
procbususb on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devshm on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
lrm on /lib/modules/2.6.17-11-generic/volatile type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/hda5 on /media/puppy type ext3 (rw)
/dev/hda7 on /media/storage type vfat (rw,utf8,umask=007,gid=46)
/dev/hda1 on /media/windowsc type ntfs (rw,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46)
fusesmb on /home/pasha/Network type fuse (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,max_read=32768)
binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
/dev/sda6 on /media/usbdisk type ext3 (rw,nosuid,nodev)
But the strange thing is that I get the icon for my external drive, which works - although when I click on it Nautilus says I'm in /media/storage...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Tue Mar 20, 2007 2:29 pm

It's not easy to read these outputs from terminal :)
I see a few odd things.
You say windows is mounted an hda2 but the output of mount says hda1.
Where is the FAT32?
I'm sorry this is over my head :(
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Wed Mar 21, 2007 12:29 am

Hi again, that was a mistake, the windows partition is indeed hda1. The FAT32 partition is identified by Linux as vfat, ie:

/dev/hda7 on /media/storage type vfat (rw,utf8,umask=007,gid=46)

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:37 am

Yes, I see it now. Unfortunately I'm no longer a young man so I simply can't read the output from a terminal above with ease. Sorry ... :(
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Wed Mar 21, 2007 10:41 pm

Can anyone else give us a hand here?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18701
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Post by Husse » Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:06 am

Just a thought as it has given me some problems, but of a different kind.
In your fstab remove the UUID identifcation for any partition if you have it and replace it with /dev/hda1 or what ever you have. You should see what to use at least by looking at /media/something on the same line.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by pashabear » Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:21 am

That fixed it! Thanks a lot, Husse.

Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”