Intrenal HardDrive won't mount

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
patrickstein
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:05 pm

Intrenal HardDrive won't mount

Post by patrickstein »

I can see the drive in Computer, but when I try to mount it I get this:

Code: Select all

$LogFile indicates unclean shutdown (0, 0) Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Operation not supported Mount is denied because NTFS is marked to be in use. Choose one action: Choice 1: if you have windows then disconnect the external devices by clicking on the 'Safely Remove Hardware' icon in Windows taskbar then shutdown Windows cleanly. Choice 2: if you don't have Windows then you can use the 'force' option for your own responsibility for example type on the command line: mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdb1/media/MY DRIVE NAME -o force or add the option to the relevant row in the /etc/fstab file: /dev/sdb1/media/MY DRIVE NAME ntfs-3g force o o
How do I get this internal drive to mount so I can get to my files?

Thank You
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2419
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Intrenal HardDrive won't mount

Post by merlwiz79 »

You didn't unmount the hard drive correctly when in Windows.
Boot into Windows and shutdown correctly, then boot into Linux Mint.
Image
patrickstein
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:05 pm

Re: Intrenal HardDrive won't mount

Post by patrickstein »

Hi

I do not have windows anymore. The reason I made the switch to Linux Mint is because my windows messed up.
patrickstein
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:05 pm

Re: Intrenal HardDrive won't mount

Post by patrickstein »

Hi

Anyone thought of anything that could help me out yet?

Thank You
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2419
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Intrenal HardDrive won't mount

Post by merlwiz79 »

Well with no windows you have to force it to mount.
Terminal command

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/sda1 -o force
To make it automatic edit /etc/fstab

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1 /media/sda1 ntfs-3g defaults,force 0 0
Make sure to change sda1 to what ever your drive is.
Image
Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”