Second IDE drive mounting problems

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
Tony@DuxfordUK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:16 am

Second IDE drive mounting problems

Post by Tony@DuxfordUK » Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:07 am

Hi Everyone,

I have a strange problem - I hope someone can help with (easy to follow) solution please?

Mint Bianca has automatically mounted my spare 58Gig IDE FAT32 formatted drive, and placed an icon on the desktop. (Being an inexperienced newbie, I couldn't do this in Ubuntu).
If I go to 'Computer' or 'Places', the drive does not show up there, although if I try to copy the icon to the Computer folder, it says it already exists, but will not allow me to copy/replace. I would very much like to be able to access this drive (for burning, backups etc.) so can anyone help me make the drive available in folder views and 'Computer', and 'Places' please?

Thanks for a great Mint, and I look forward to Cassandra.

Tony@DuxfordUK

telic
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Post by telic » Tue Apr 24, 2007 5:58 am

Mint Bianca has automatically mounted my spare 58Gig IDE FAT32 formatted drive, and placed an icon on the desktop
Just double-click on that desktop icon, the GNOME file manager (Nautilus) should open up, showing the directories/files on that drive, so you can do the usual stuff (copy, delete, etc).

-------

Tony@DuxfordUK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:16 am

Post by Tony@DuxfordUK » Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am

telic wrote:
Mint Bianca has automatically mounted my spare 58Gig IDE FAT32 formatted drive, and placed an icon on the desktop
Just double-click on that desktop icon, the GNOME file manager (Nautilus) should open up, showing the directories/files on that drive, so you can do the usual stuff (copy, delete, etc).

-------
Thank you for the quick reply - I can indeed do that, but the drive does not show up in 'Places', so if I open (for example) GnomeBaker (my burning software) I cannot select any files on that drive - because Nautilus does not list it - I've only the icon on the desktop. I know it's not a major problem, but as part of my learning curve, I was wondering why.

Thanks again,

Tony@DuxfordUK

telic
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Post by telic » Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:53 am

I just installed GnomeBaker, to check what it does with my deskptop icons.

You're right, GnomeBaker's "Places" doesn't list every drive that Bianca shows on the desktop. However, GnomeBaker's "Places" does have a "Desktop" item on its list. When I double-click on that, my extra HDD partitions appear on GnomeBaker's file-selection list. I may then click on those to access all their files.

Above GnomeBaker's "Location" bar there's a cookie-crumb style of directory path. Note that it might denote your drives/partitions by their mount points (e.g. "/media/hdb1/") instead of whatever names they have on your desktop.

Does this info apply to your setup?

-------
Last edited by telic on Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Tony@DuxfordUK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:16 am

Post by Tony@DuxfordUK » Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:58 am

telic wrote:I just installed GnomeBaker, to check what it does with my deskptop icons.

You're right, GnomeBaker's "Places" doesn't list every drive that Bianca shows on the desktop. However, GnomeBaker's "Places" does have a "Desktop" item on its list. When I double-click on that, my extra HDD partitions appear on GnomeBaker's file-selection list. I may then click on those to access all their files.

Above GnomeBaker's "Location" bar there's a cookie-crumb style of directory path. Note that it might denote your secondary HDD by its mount point (e.g. "/media/hdb1/") instead of whatever name it has on your desktop.

That solves one problem, thank you very much!
I would love it to be listed in Nautilus Places, but don't have a clue on how to do that. Thanks anyway for the helpful information.

Tony@DuxfordUK

Does this info apply to your setup?

------

telic
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Post by telic » Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:10 am

I would love it to be listed in Nautilus Places, but don't have a clue on how to do that.
Nautilus' "Places" also has the "Desktop" item. Double-click it!

------

Tony@DuxfordUK
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:16 am

Post by Tony@DuxfordUK » Tue Apr 24, 2007 7:12 am

telic wrote:
I would love it to be listed in Nautilus Places, but don't have a clue on how to do that.
Nautilus' "Places" also has the "Desktop" item. Double-click it!

------
Well - Hell! I did say I was new to this, didn't I? :-)

Thanks so much for your patience. I'm happy now!

Tony@DuxfordUK

Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”