Looking for partition help

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo »

first make your swap partition 2x your RAM size.

I would make a / partition and a /home partition.

the root partition must be at least 2GB.
make the rest the /home partition.

depending on how many apps you want to install or how much personal files and photos etc. you have or want to keep, will change the size of the /home and / partitions.

maybe half and half would do.
5GB /
5GB /home

having a home partition will make upgrading or reinstalling a much more pleasant experience since all your settings and files are not lost.
:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Looking for partition help

Post by scorp123 »

G. Traynor wrote:After blowing Windows clean off this machine, I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to how I should partition my 11.24 GB HD
This was already discussed here :wink:

Partitioning - UNIX-style (complicated but totally worth it):
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =1949#1949

Partitioning - simplified scheme (probably more suited for the average home user?): http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =2198#2198

Other thread worth to mention:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1681
telic
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Post by telic »

Ubuntu Feisty 7.04, which will be the basis for Mint 3.0 (Cassandra), consumes more than 2.5GB of root drive space when it installs, and that's before you load your own choice of software (which will also install onto the / partition).

Methinks Boo's half-and-half (5GB/5GB) suggestion is a good one for your setup.

------
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 »

G. Traynor wrote:Hi, thanks boo
Or maybe:
4GB /
6GB /home
Yes, I'd go for that, given the small size of your disk (11 GB?).
User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo »

I thought you were doing this from scratch (install).
you can not unmount the / disk or any other if you are using it.
if you want to redo all your partitions you are best to reinstall and manually set the partitions then.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 »

G. Traynor wrote:Well it's not letting me unmount hda1 in order to let me resize it. Even after I do the swapoff in hda5.
Did you boot the system from the harddisks? Well .. obviously the disks are in use then and you can't do this while they are in use.

You could try to boot with a live CD and change the partitions from there?
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 »

G. Traynor wrote:
You could try to boot with a live CD and change the partitions from there?
How would that work?

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/how-do-i- ... tware.html
http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=06/04/25/1917228
http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page
Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”