Looking for partition help

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:57 am

Looking for partition help

Post by G. Traynor » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:11 pm

After blowing Windows clean off this machine, I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to how I should partition my 11.24 GB HD

So far I have:

/dev/hda1 ext3 / 10.72GB (size) 1.67 (used) 9.05GIB boot
/dev/hda2 extended 525.56 MiB
/dev/hda5 linux-swap 525.56 MiB


I've read that I need a /home partition but where do I put it? Do I need to rename what's there? And do I need any of the other kinds?

Thanks.

User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:21 pm

first make your swap partition 2x your RAM size.

I would make a / partition and a /home partition.

the root partition must be at least 2GB.
make the rest the /home partition.

depending on how many apps you want to install or how much personal files and photos etc. you have or want to keep, will change the size of the /home and / partitions.

maybe half and half would do.
5GB /
5GB /home

having a home partition will make upgrading or reinstalling a much more pleasant experience since all your settings and files are not lost.
:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Looking for partition help

Post by scorp123 » Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:14 am

G. Traynor wrote:After blowing Windows clean off this machine, I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to how I should partition my 11.24 GB HD
This was already discussed here :wink:

Partitioning - UNIX-style (complicated but totally worth it):
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =1949#1949

Partitioning - simplified scheme (probably more suited for the average home user?): http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... =2198#2198

Other thread worth to mention:
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1681

G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:57 am

Post by G. Traynor » Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:44 am



telic
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

Post by telic » Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:53 am

Ubuntu Feisty 7.04, which will be the basis for Mint 3.0 (Cassandra), consumes more than 2.5GB of root drive space when it installs, and that's before you load your own choice of software (which will also install onto the / partition).

Methinks Boo's half-and-half (5GB/5GB) suggestion is a good one for your setup.

------

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 » Wed Apr 25, 2007 1:21 pm

G. Traynor wrote:Hi, thanks boo
Or maybe:
4GB /
6GB /home
Yes, I'd go for that, given the small size of your disk (11 GB?).

G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:57 am

Post by G. Traynor » Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:24 pm

Well it's not letting me unmount hda1 in order to let me resize it. Even after I do the swapoff in hda5.

It'll let me resize hda3 and hda5 but not hda1. What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
Boo
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1634
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Post by Boo » Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:41 pm

I thought you were doing this from scratch (install).
you can not unmount the / disk or any other if you are using it.
if you want to redo all your partitions you are best to reinstall and manually set the partitions then.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 » Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:06 am

G. Traynor wrote:Well it's not letting me unmount hda1 in order to let me resize it. Even after I do the swapoff in hda5.
Did you boot the system from the harddisks? Well .. obviously the disks are in use then and you can't do this while they are in use.

You could try to boot with a live CD and change the partitions from there?

G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:57 am

Post by G. Traynor » Fri Apr 27, 2007 12:21 pm

scorp123 wrote:
G. Traynor wrote:Well it's not letting me unmount hda1 in order to let me resize it. Even after I do the swapoff in hda5.
Did you boot the system from the harddisks? Well .. obviously the disks are in use then and you can't do this while they are in use.

:oops: :oops: :lol: :lol:
You could try to boot with a live CD and change the partitions from there?
How would that work? Would it save all my current settings? Or would it amount to a fresh install?

scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by scorp123 » Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:16 pm

G. Traynor wrote:
You could try to boot with a live CD and change the partitions from there?
How would that work?

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/how-do-i- ... tware.html
http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=06/04/25/1917228
http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page

G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:57 am

Post by G. Traynor » Sat Apr 28, 2007 8:52 am

scorp123 wrote:
G. Traynor wrote:
You could try to boot with a live CD and change the partitions from there?
How would that work?

http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/how-do-i- ... tware.html
http://www.linux.com/article.pl?sid=06/04/25/1917228
http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page
Thanks. I'll check those out and get back with you all.

G. Traynor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:57 am

Post by G. Traynor » Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:04 pm

Ok, I'm going to try and use Gparted later on today.

Will this partitioning scheme work on my 11.24GB HD?

/dev/hda1 ext3 / 5GB
/dev/hda2 extended 525.56 MiB
/dev/hda3 home 5GB
/dev/hda5 linux-swap 525.56 MiB

Not sure if this will add up to 11.24GB. Is there anything else I need?

I'll worry about moving my personal data over to home, later.

Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”