Unable to mount Hardrive.

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
BKM
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:31 am

Unable to mount Hardrive.

Postby BKM » Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:58 am

Hello everyone !
I am a newbie in terms of Computer as well as in Linux. With the help of my cousin, I had replaced my previously Windows 8.1 by Lint Mint Cinnamon 18.1 (Sanya). Now, whenever I click on 'My Computer' then I get these 3 drives in which the first one is 'SAMSUNG HM120JI' [attachment]Drives.png[/attachment]. But the problem is it shows [b]'Unable to mount location & Can't mount file' whenever I try to open it.
Error message.png
What should I do to mount and open this ? Please help in out in this query. I will be attaching the images of 'My Drives' along with 'Error' I am getting.
Last edited by BKM on Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
karlchen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8025
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Unable to mount Hardrive.

Postby karlchen » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:38 pm

Hello, BKM.

Just checked here on Ubuntu 16.04.3, on which Linux Mint 18.x is based:
Filemanager Nautilus does not display the whole harddisk object. So I do not run the risk of trying to mount what cannot be mounted.
On Linux, you do not mount drives or disks; you mount filesystems.

The third item from the top in your first screenshot reads "File System". This is the filesystem on your Samsung harddisk. This filesystem has already been mounted. You can click on it and you will see its content.

You cannot mount this already mounted filesystem a second time by clicking on the harddisk object Samsung HM120JI. I admit the error message is not particularly helpful, because it leaves its reader clueless. No system failure. The disk is already in use. A filesystem on the disk has already been mounted.

Best regards,
Karl
Image
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.

altair4
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8784
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Unable to mount Hardrive.

Postby altair4 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:45 pm

karlchen wrote:Just checked here on Ubuntu 16.04.3, on which Linux Mint 18.x is based:
Filemanager Nautilus does not display the whole harddisk object.

Not by default since Computer on the side panel now points to /.

You can only get the old Computer listings of disks and mounted filesystems by running:

Code: Select all

nautilus computer://

They may have done this to avoid questions like this one where someone was trying to mount a hard drive and not a partition..
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

BKM
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:31 am

Re: Unable to mount Hardrive.

Postby BKM » Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:48 am

But how can I excess my File system like I used to excess on my 'Windows 8'. Is there any alternate file manager app to this where I can get back my old style of accessing files ?

Mark Phelps
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1763
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:39 pm

Re: Unable to mount Hardrive.

Postby Mark Phelps » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:48 pm

BKM wrote:But how can I excess my File system like I used to excess on my 'Windows 8'. Is there any alternate file manager app to this where I can get back my old style of accessing files ?


If you're looking for something with a look and feel similar to Windows Explorer, then I highly recommend you look into Gnome-Commander.

It is a two-panel file manager equivalent and is available in the repos.

Good Luck

daret
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:42 am

Re: Unable to mount Hardrive.

Postby daret » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:06 pm

BKM wrote:But how can I excess my File system like I used to excess on my 'Windows 8'. Is there any alternate file manager app to this where I can get back my old style of accessing files ?


Is your windows partition encrypted?
- if yes, then you should decrypt it, or try this https://superuser.com/questions/376533/ ... e-in-linux

As far as I can remember, I have had some problem with mounting ntfs partition marked as corrupted/not clean.
Try to check and repair the partition from windows.


Return to “Mounting Partitions”