How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
ajay
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:34 am

How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by ajay » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:19 am

Before installastion of linux mint cinnamen 19 i have these partitions.
1) 500 MB -windows loader
2) 222 GB - windows operating system(C Drive)
3) 500 MB- system reserved
4) 776 GB- E Drive for personal space
All the above partitons are NTFS and i had a windows 10 pro.


Before installation of linux mint cinnamen 19 i did these changes.::
1) Selected "something else"
2) Formatted/deleted 1,2 and 3 of above partitions and created
3 GB - Swap
150 GB - / ext4 for installation
71 GB - Home ext4
3) Installed linux mint cinnamen 19 in 150 GB

After installation of Linux the 776 GB NTFS is mounted as external and as readonly. I want to add it to home or create another Drive like Home , so i can have the full access on the 776 GB Drive .
I don't know how to do that . Can someone help me with this.

Below are some screenshots.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1A1vbVR ... sp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1vzq8p ... mCtJphzkmL
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1qtqlw ... aZrfBfiCoO

HaveaMint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by HaveaMint » Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:48 am

In terminal you type:

Code: Select all

chown -R jay:jay /media/jay/funky
For root you only need at most 20 gig, home is fine at 80. Swap is fine. the rest you can use for ntfs.
/ 20gig
/home 80gig
/funky the rest minus swap size
/swap 3gig
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:06 am

HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:48 am
For root you only need at most 20 gig
I think that's a bit dangerous without knowing what applications the OP will install. Perhaps 32GB is safer. 20GB might be ok for you, but is it ok for others? My root is already at 18GB so I'd be in strife.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

HaveaMint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by HaveaMint » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:12 am

catweazel wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:06 am
HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:48 am
For root you only need at most 20 gig
I think that's a bit dangerous without knowing what applications the OP will install. Perhaps 32GB is safer. 20GB might be ok for you, but is it ok for others? My root is already at 18GB so I'd be in strife.
How true, thanks.
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:14 am

HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:12 am
catweazel wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:06 am
HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:48 am
For root you only need at most 20 gig
I think that's a bit dangerous without knowing what applications the OP will install. Perhaps 32GB is safer. 20GB might be ok for you, but is it ok for others? My root is already at 18GB so I'd be in strife.
How true, thanks.
No worries. Cheers.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

HaveaMint
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by HaveaMint » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:17 am

catweazel wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:14 am
HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:12 am
catweazel wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:06 am


I think that's a bit dangerous without knowing what applications the OP will install. Perhaps 32GB is safer. 20GB might be ok for you, but is it ok for others? My root is already at 18GB so I'd be in strife.
How true, thanks.
No worries. Cheers.
In the future I should suggest if they have installed most of what the think they need then double what your using.
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:23 am

HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:17 am
catweazel wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:14 am
HaveaMint wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 4:12 am


How true, thanks.
No worries. Cheers.
In the future I should suggest if they have installed most of what the think they need then double what your using.
The problem then is that the partition will need to be expanded, which implies shrinking and moving others. 32GB is, I think, a happy middle-ground, even though Cinnamon only takes up around 10GB on a clean install. I always punt for a 40GB root on my machines just to be certain. 20GB is ok if all you're going to do is read email and browse the interwebs.

Anyway, I'll leave it there. I don't want to disrupt the OP's thread any more than I have :)
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9314
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by altair4 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:25 am

I honestly and truly hope I am dead wrong about this but I think you have a bigger problem.

By default an NTFS partition not listed in fstab will mount to /media/$USER/XXX with read / write access to everyone. The fact that it is mounting read only is I suspect because you missed a step:
Before installation of linux mint cinnamen 19 i did these changes.::
1) Selected "something else"
2) Formatted/deleted 1,2 and 3 of above partitions and created
3 GB - Swap
150 GB - / ext4 for installation
71 GB - Home ext4
3) Installed linux mint cinnamen 19 in 150 GB
Before 1) you should have disabled "Fast Startup" in Win10 and performed a full shutdown. I think Linux believes this E Drive is in a hybrid hibernated state which is why it is mounting it read only. The problem now is that you no longer have a Win10 to disable Fast Startup from.

Mounting this partition in your home directory won't resolve this read only problem.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:36 am

altair4 wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:25 am
I honestly and truly hope I am dead wrong about this but I think you have a bigger problem.

Before 1) you should have disabled "Fast Startup" in Win10 and performed a full shutdown. I think Linux believes this E Drive is in a hybrid hibernated state which is why it is mounting it read only. The problem now is that you no longer have a Win10 to disable Fast Startup from.
If that's the case then it can be fixed from within linux.

Code: Select all

sudo ntfs-3g -o remove_hiberfile /dev/sda5 /media/$USER/<mount-point>
Last edited by catweazel on Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by catweazel » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:42 am

ajay wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:19 am
Before installastion of linux mint cinnamen 19 i have these partitions.
See @altair4's reply, then see this:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NT ... e_metadata
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

ajay
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:34 am

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by ajay » Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:30 am

No change .

after execution of chown -R jay:jay /media/jay/funky
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YTBIS ... vSGi2TnatS

After execution of sudo ntfs-3g -o remove_hiberfile /dev/sda5 /media/$USER/<mount-point>
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OKsUX ... q_170-vEvc

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7770
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by catweazel » Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:33 am

ajay wrote:
Sat Aug 18, 2018 9:30 am
No change .

after execution of chown -R jay:jay /media/jay/funky
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YTBIS ... vSGi2TnatS

After execution of sudo ntfs-3g -o remove_hiberfile /dev/sda5 /media/$USER/<mount-point>
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OKsUX ... q_170-vEvc
<mount-point> should be replaced with the drive's mount point. Take a look in /media/<your-user-name> to get the mount point.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9314
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: How to add mounted NTFS partition to the home/as another drive

Post by altair4 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:09 am

sudo ntfs-3g -o remove_hiberfile /dev/sda5 /media/$USER/<mount-point>
First: you are missing a mount command: mount -t

Then create a mount point - you do not want it under /media/jay:

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /media/funky
Make sure the partition is unmounted.

Then the command would be:

Code: Select all

sudo mount -t ntfs-3g -o remove_hiberfile /dev/sda5 /media/funky
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”