HDD won't mount [RESOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
jmcginley

HDD won't mount [RESOLVED]

Post by jmcginley »

Hi there i'm fairly new to the Linux world so I will apologise in advance for any daft questions I may ask during this thread, and i also apologise for the length of the post, i appear to have made a mess of things and have found myself down a bit or a rabbit hole.
Recently my external HDD has become corrupted and having recently installed Linux Mint Tara onto this PC i hadn't yet transferred all of the files over. I did some research in to how i could rescue the data from the external HDD and was advised that I should start by making an ISO image of the HDD as the likely hood is that it will become more and more corrupt the more I tinker with it. I installed ddrescue and set about doing this. At first i told the PC to create an image and put this on my SSD (125gb) which after half an hour it realised wasn't possible as i did not have enough space, after a few failed attempts at typing the correct command in the terminal I got the programme to start making an image on to my internal HDD, however I wanted to check that this was doing it correctly so after a while i cancelled the operation to see if anything had been saved on to my HDD. It was as this point I became a bit unstuck.