Page 1 of 1

mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:12 pm
by skychap94
Hello everyone. I am a newbie in using linux mint in my laptop but hands down linux mint seems so much better than windows. So today I was trying to mount a toshiba 2tb external hard drive to my laptop but it doesnt mount at all. Could anyone please help me with this issue please?
Thank you.

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:11 pm
by WharfRat
Hello skychap94 Image

Welcome to Linux Mint and the Linux Mint forum :)

With the toshiba 2tb external hard drive plugged in, open the terminal and paste back the results of sudo blkid

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:58 pm
by skychap94
Hey WharfRat :)
thanks for welcoming me to the forum :D
these are the results to sudo blkid

Code: Select all

amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ sudo blkid
[sudo] password for amd: 
/dev/sda1: UUID="dec69e7b-8ec6-4278-b304-1033b100c8bd" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="c1da7768-01"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop1: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop2: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop3: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop4: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop5: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="Sky Chaplin" UUID="C2E085DBE085D5D7" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="678030bb-01"

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:30 pm
by WharfRat
Try sudo mount -t ntfs-3g -o uid=1000,gid=1000,dmask=002,fmask=111 /dev/sdb1 /mnt

That will mount /dev/sdb1 to /mnt so your files will be available there.

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:47 pm
by skychap94
thanks WharfRat i tried it and this is what it shows

Code: Select all

amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ sudo mount -t ntfs-3g -o uid=1000,gid=1000,dmask=002,fmask=111 /dev/sdb1 /mnt
[sudo] password for amd: 
$MFTMirr does not match $MFT (record 0).
Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Input/output error
NTFS is either inconsistent, or there is a hardware fault, or it's a
SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
then reboot into Windows twice. The usage of the /f parameter is very
important! If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate
it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
/dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
for more details.

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:08 pm
by WharfRat
It looks like there's a problem with that partition/disk or it was a former raid member.

What does sudo wipefs /dev/sdb and ls -lh /dev/mapper return.

If possible you should attach it to a windows machine and run chkdsk /f

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:39 pm
by skychap94
so this is what it shows,

amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ sudo wipefs /dev/sdb
[sudo] password for amd:
DEVICE OFFSET TYPE UUID LABEL
sdb 0x1fe dos
amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ ls -lh /dev/mapper
total 0
crw------- 1 root root 10, 236 Nov 7 14:53 control

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:33 pm
by lsemmens
Hi, and welcome to Mint forums. I'll leave you in the capable hands of Warfrat.

My suggestion would also to be try mounting the drive on another machine or in a "live" environment. (By live: I mean booting from your Linux install medium where you could "try before you buy", i.e. install) and seeing if you can mount from there. Otherwise, it could well be that the device is toast, but we'll worry about that after all other avenues are explored.

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:37 pm
by WharfRat
Well it's not a raid member, just a plain old ordinary dos signature.

There is a ntfsfix program (see man ntfsfix), but it's very limited as to what can repair.

Again the best thing to try is running chkdsk on a win machine.

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:22 pm
by BG405
If you don't have a windows machine to do the repairs with, there's likely the option of using a live environment like BartPE, if this is any help.