[SOLVED} Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

[SOLVED} Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by buteman »

I saw 1024 GiB Sd cards being sold for just GBP 10 which is way below anything else I have seen. I was wary that it might be a bit of a scam but as it was for sale on amazon.co.uk I knew I get any problems resolved.
Anyway when I got one I decided to have a look at it using Gparted and it seemed to be okay. So to test it more I cleared the partition and then created a partition formatted to fat32. It worked. I then tried instead to make an ext4 partition. It complained about 64 bit filesystem support is not enabled. Passing =O 64bit will rectify this.
Gparted had been running

Code: Select all

 mkfs.ext4 -F -O ^64bit  '/dev/sdc1'  
It does complete and info on the partition says:

"<i>Filesystem volume name: SD1
Last mounted on: <not available>
Filesystem UUID: d2314592-98c0-44ba-ad12-caa42d055f3e
Filesystem magic number: 0xEF53
Filesystem revision #: 1 (dynamic)
Filesystem features: has_journal ext_attr resize_inode dir_index filetype extent flex_bg sparse_super large_file huge_file dir_nlink extra_isize metadata_csum
Filesystem flags: signed_directory_hash
Default mount options: user_xattr acl
Filesystem state: clean
Errors behavior: Continue
Filesystem OS type: Linux
Inode count: 65536000
Block count: 262144000
Reserved block count: 13107200
Free blocks: 257750374 "
but there is a ! next to the partition
Free inodes: 65535989
Check and repair finds many errorrs and takes a long time to finish. The ! is still there
Can this be changed from within gparted, should I run it from the command line or will it just not work on an SD card?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13227
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by Pierre »

personally, I'd just leave it as an NTFS system.
:)

recently, I've bought a set of Five usb stick(s) that are 4Gb in capacity,
as I've always preferred the smaller size, for my file storage.
- for some reason, these smaller capacity disks, are available again.
8)
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by buteman »

I did decide to try

Code: Select all

  sudo mkfs.ext4 -F -O 64bit  '/dev/sdc1'  
which did complete but

Code: Select all

  sudo mount /dev/sdc1 /mnt/sd1  
failed giving the message
mount: /mnt/sd1: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdc1, missing codepage or helper program, or other error.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13759
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by AndyMH »

buteman wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 7:57 am I saw 1024 GiB Sd cards being sold for just GBP 10 which is way below anything else I have seen. I was wary that it might be a bit of a scam but as it was for sale on amazon.co.uk I knew I get any problems resolved.
I suspect it's a scam at that price with a real capacity < 1TB.

Are you connecting via a card reader or a usb to SD adapter?

I would use gparted to put two partitions on the drive, one large and one small at the end of the drive, format whatever you want. See if you can write a GB or two to the small partition. Write same sort of volume to large partition - is there any corruption?

Given fake high capacity usb sticks, there are utilities to check the real size, can't remember what they were or whether they would work for SD cards.
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by buteman »

Okay I'll try that.
Although I have formatted it to fat32 and gparted doesn't complain. I copied linuxmint-20.2-cinnamon-64bit.iso which is just over 2GB to it. From gparted I ran a check and repair and it didn't complain.
User avatar
AZgl1800
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11184
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes Sweeping down the Plains
Contact:

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by AZgl1800 »

that is why I only buy Brand Name flash drives,
Kingston, Samsung, etc...
LM21.3 Cinnamon ASUS FX705GM | Donate to Mint https://www.patreon.com/linux_mint
Image
vimes666
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1241
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by vimes666 »

If you think the issue is solved, edit your original post and add the word solved to the title.
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by buteman »

cleared the SD card. created a 900GIB partition and then the rest as a second partition
The same problems as before. the first patrition is recognised by gparted as ext4 but the second is unknown even thugh I told gparted to make both of them ext4. I then told it to format them to ext4. Same result. Neither partition could be mounted.
Could it be that fat32 works as it's is 32bit but gparted is trying to make a 64bit ext4 partition?
Last edited by buteman on Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13759
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by AndyMH »

There may be something here to help, some linux utilities amongst the win ones:
https://www.geckoandfly.com/22803/detec ... -ssd-disk/
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
buteman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: North Lincolnshire

Re: Formatting a 1024GiB Sd card

Post by buteman »

AndyMH wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:45 pm There may be something here to help, some linux utilities amongst the win ones:
https://www.geckoandfly.com/22803/detec ... -ssd-disk/
Thanks AndyMH, as I said in my OP I was pretty sure they were fake but knowing I could easily return them as bought through Amazon I went ahead. I hadn't checked how to detect if anything was wrong but wanted to be sure that Amazon would sort the seller out and so protect others. I am 78 and have the time and rescources to do this.
I used F3probe and this was the result;

Code: Select all

sudo F3probe  /dev/sdc  
F3 probe 7.2
Copyright (C) 2010 Digirati Internet LTDA.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.

WARNING: Probing normally takes from a few seconds to 15 minutes, but
it can take longer. Please be patient.

Probe finished, recovering blocks... Done

Bad news: The device `/dev/sdc' is a counterfeit of type limbo

You can "fix" this device using the following command:
f3fix --last-sec=130025225 /dev/sdc

Device geometry:
*Usable* size: 62.00 GB (130025226 blocks)
Announced size: 1000.00 GB (2097154048 blocks)
Module: 1.00 TB (2^40 Bytes)
Approximate cache size: 31.00 MB (63488 blocks), need-reset=no
Physical block size: 512.00 Byte (2^9 Bytes)
Probe time: 7'19"
I have already initiated a return.
Locked

Return to “Storage”