The case of the frozen CD drives.

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
plakaplaka
Level 1
Level 1

The case of the frozen CD drives.

Post by plakaplaka »

Very stumped noob here. Mint 20 on a 64 bit laptop with an internal CD drive. mate with wine and a windiows ripper app. Two new external CD drives, big Plextors, SATA wioth a uSB interface and their own power. The two USB cables go to a powered hub then on to the laaptops single USB 3 port.

But the external drives are frozen. The ripper software cannot open the trays or spin up a disk. All works fine on the laptops internal drive. Drive tray button does nothing. I ran three comand lines to make sure thgey are not locked an got a return message that they are not locked. Look in the MNT directory and all three show up. Lookj in the etc/whatchamacallit file and all are listed. All set to start on boot with the mint disks utility.

Run the ripper software and all three drives show up with proper (windows)drive letters. But only the internal one is functional.

Googled around. Extremely frustrating. Ratio of off topic chatter from the regs to actual help is annoying. Only clue I got was a guy who changed sata ports to solve a problem with data not getting through.

I have no idea what to try next. Set up some sort of virtual machine running some sort of windows so that can run the drives?

Any help greatly appreciated.
Last edited by LockBot on Thu Feb 09, 2023 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
plakaplaka
Level 1
Level 1

Re: The case of the frozen CD drives.

Post by plakaplaka »

Slight addition to all that: When I go into the CD ripper software and use it to try to open a drive the light on the drive blinks but the drive does not open. Same thing when I push the button on the front of the drive.