Resizing my sda1

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
ascii
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:38 pm

Resizing my sda1

Post by ascii »

Hey! At the moment my sda1 partition takes up almost all of my hard disk, but I'm only using 20 gigabytes of the 295 it offers. I want to resize this partition down to maybe half of that size and create a second primary partition with about 120-130gb. How can I do this through gparted, it won't let me edit my sda1! Here's a screen shot of my setup: http://imageshack.us/f/337/parion.png/

Thanks!
User avatar
Fandangio
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:20 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Resizing my sda1

Post by Fandangio »

You would need to run GParted from a Live CD.

It's then as simple as adjusting a slider till the partition is the correct size :D
AMD Phenom (tm) II x4 965 | 4GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GTS 450 4GB DDR3 | ASUS M4A88T-M
ascii
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: Resizing my sda1

Post by ascii »

So I burn gparted to a CD and boot from CD? Don't I need a disk image to do to that?

EDIT: :o http://sourceforge.net/projects/gparted ... ve-stable/
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3944
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Resizing my sda1

Post by proxima_centauri »

You could just use the Linux Mint LiveCD, which has gparted.
User avatar
Fandangio
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:20 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Resizing my sda1

Post by Fandangio »

Sorry, maybe I should have been more explicit.

Run Gparted from a live CD such as Mint as proxima_centauri says. Though it need not be Mint, there are lots on live OS's that include partitioning software...
AMD Phenom (tm) II x4 965 | 4GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GTS 450 4GB DDR3 | ASUS M4A88T-M
ascii
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:38 pm

Re: Resizing my sda1

Post by ascii »

Yeah I figured it out, but it didn't matter because I accidently erased the wrong partition and wiped linux mint off my computer with openSUSE 11.4 *facepalm*. I had backups and everything, which I've moved onto openSUSE, but the stupid wireless still isn't working after almost 3 hours! Thanks for the help anyhow.
Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”