Epson SX235W - head cleaning

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
markoz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:40 pm

Epson SX235W - head cleaning

Post by markoz » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:59 pm

Hi,
Used Mint 17 so far. Installed Epson SX235W and happy used.
Now, I had to clean install Mint 18. Installed SX235W driver, not so happy as it misses head cleaning button.
The printer is used as a wi-fi printer.
Any idea how to get head cleaning button back?

pdc_2
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2418
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 am

Re: Epson SX235W - head cleaning: try MTink

Post by pdc_2 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:55 pm

in the post just above yours; is what is called a "stickie": a thread that remains there as a reference; it talks about MTink https://apps.ubuntu.com/cat/applications/precise/mtink/ which is a utility that is just for Epson printers I think;

it should be in the repositories so if you open synaptic, and type in mtink it should offer you version 1.0.16-9 to install: the thread talks through how you use it so best check that out

markoz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:40 pm

Re: Epson SX235W - head cleaning

Post by markoz » Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:17 am

Yes, have seen it. However it is said mtink does not work with a wireless/network printer I think.

pdc_2
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2418
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 am

Re: Epson SX235W - head cleaning

Post by pdc_2 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:13 pm

I suppose the only thing is to try it ............

Arrababiski
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: España

Re: Epson SX235W - head cleaning

Post by Arrababiski » Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:20 am

Epson drivers include a head cleaning, ink levels & nozzle check application. You can see a screenshot at the end of this post:

viewtopic.php?f=51&t=228387

Just press Alt+F2, execute "epson-printer-utility" and that's it!

If you have ufw firewall active, create a rule to allow the comunication between the computer and the printer:

sudo ufw allow from printer_ip

Changing "printer_ip" with the IP address of your printer

Post Reply

Return to “Printers & Scanners”