Another 'Best Printer' thread. Recommendations please. [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
momist
Level 4
Level 4

Another 'Best Printer' thread. Recommendations please. [SOLVED]

Post by momist »

Hi everyone. I've been using an HP Photosmart Premium C310a for a few years now, and today it has developed a fault I can't seem to get around. It copies, and prints small sizes, but will not print at A4 any more. The fault message is "Paper Mismatch" and this appears even if I ask it to print it's own status report, so this is nothing to do with my PC or Linux (for once). I have tried all the usual cures, resets, changes in paper size etc., and also cleaned the paper transport. I can't find the source of the fault.

So, I'm looking for a new printer that is happy to be driven by my Linux Mint 18.2 as well as my wife's MacBook and other sources such as Android phones. As always, the printer will be a compromise, but in this case, the price is not very relevant. My most frequent use of the printer is churning out quick B/W and colour text/illustrations of things I need to remember, or reference documents from banks and blogs etc. The most important use however, is the reproduction of my wife's artwork, carefully scanned in from the watercolour/acrylic originals at full size. Printing needs to include photographic images from cameras onto glossy photo paper up to A4 size, and more importantly, prints of the artwork onto Archival Matte paper, and greetings cards onto heavy (200gsm) double sided card.

A multi-function machine is good if the scanner works well, but I am willing to spring for a separate scanner if that produces better results. I have so far been using a 15 year old Epson scanner that really should be retired. The HP Photosmart doesn't scan well enough.