Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
greyowl
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Canada

Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby greyowl » Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:24 am

I am running Mint 18.2.
I am wanting to install a Microtek ScanMaker 3800 scanner.
Microtek only provides drivers for Windows and Macs.
I found linux drivers for a 3600 model but I don't know if they will work. Here is the link for the drivers:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/sm3600/?source=navbar
I don't know how to install them.

I am hoping that someone will be able to help me.
Thanks

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby richyrich » Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:55 am

Doesn't look good for your model from this page of SANE supported scanners (April 2017) - Microtek :

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/doc/libsane/supported.html#Z-MICROTEK

greyowl
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby greyowl » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:17 am

Thanks for the information.
Looks like I may need to find a Windows user to give it to.

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby richyrich » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:37 am

Please be patient for a little while, and check back, another member may browse by with a fix or workaround . . I almost threw out my old as dirt Acerscan Prism, then I found the needed bin file to make it work perfectly. :-)

User avatar
mrjimphelps
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:23 pm

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby mrjimphelps » Wed Nov 01, 2017 11:20 am

Try VueScan: http://linuxg.net/how-to-install-vuescan-on-linux-systems/

You can install and use it free, to make sure it works. The free version puts watermarks on the scanned page. If you like it, you'll need to pay, to remove the watermarks.

greyowl
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby greyowl » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:56 pm

Thanks for the suggestion.
I tried it and they do not support my scanner.

dark
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:02 pm

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby dark » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:04 pm

If you can passthrough scanner to Windows VM, you should get it working.

User avatar
phd21
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4913
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby phd21 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:18 pm

Hi "greyowl",

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

I just answered this post below with some good information. You can install the latest "sane" drivers and see if that works...

Re: Best Scanner Software to Use?
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=252893&p=1383256#p1383256

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.2, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,3gb Ram,160gb hdd, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

greyowl
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby greyowl » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:20 pm

Thanks so much for the helpful information.

User avatar
phd21
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4913
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Need help to install Microtek Scanner

Postby phd21 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:24 pm

Hi "greyowl"

You are welcome ...

Let us know how it goes...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.2, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,3gb Ram,160gb hdd, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde


Return to “Printers & Scanners”