HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
kilowatt2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:39 am

HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby kilowatt2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:19 pm

I have installed the sane and all backends package for scanning. My printer works fine and I am able to print documents. The problem I am having is my 18.2 laptop can't connect to use the scanner. Does anyone know how to properly do this? I have tried following directions from several web sites by going into /etc/sane.d and set up the network configuration files with no luck. Thanks for any help. :arrow:

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5303
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby Spearmint2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:30 pm

Open Package Manager and install all HPLIP programs. Maybe then the scanner will also work. Also be sure you have Simple Scan installed.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

kilowatt2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:39 am

Re: HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby kilowatt2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:42 pm

Hi, I have installed all of those and I still can't get access to the scanner.

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5303
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby Spearmint2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:46 pm

Is this access by wifi? Did you set up the wifi at the HP printer yet? Once it's done, then go into router and make that a static IP address for it.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

kilowatt2
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:39 am

Re: HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby kilowatt2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:56 pm

My router doesn't allow static IP's for devices. The HP printer is wirelessly printing 100%. Where do I put the network address for the scanner? I've tried the /etc/sane.d/ with no connection made.

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5303
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby Spearmint2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:02 pm

did you yet install simple scan?

Code: Select all

simple-scan


run that in terminal, if you have it, then it will open. If not;

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install simple-scan
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5303
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: HP All-in-One Scanner (Wireless 6960)

Postby Spearmint2 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:07 pm

kilowatt2 wrote:My router doesn't allow static IP's for devices. The HP printer is wirelessly printing 100%. Where do I put the network address for the scanner? I've tried the /etc/sane.d/ with no connection made.


The IP address would be shown in the router.
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....


Return to “Printers & Scanners”