Epson won't print photos

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
twilhelm

Epson won't print photos

Post by twilhelm »

I have two Epson printers networked, an Artisan 1430 and a WF 4630. While I have no problem printing documents to either from pdf or Office, I cannot print a photo. My main usage is my photography so this is presenting quite an issue. Gimp is the only program which allows me to change the print size, every other program I've tried, when I chose a different size other than standard 8.5x11, it automatically reverts back to the standard. But when I hit print, I get the message in the print que that the printer cannot be found.

I'm currently running Mint 18.2 with KDE 64bit. Unfortunately I'm having to run it as a dual boot with Win 10 so I can access my printers to do photos. I'm sure this is a simple problem, but I consider myself a complete novice with Linux since its been over 15 years since I had a Linux system.

Any help would be appreciated! Thank you,

Tony
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
pdc_2
Level 10
Level 10

Re: Epson won't print photos

Post by pdc_2 »

Hi Tony; welcome to the forums.

if you go to the Printers folder ......... usually it is MENU at bottom left; then into the ADMINISTRATION folder and from there to PRINTERS ......

if you right-click on the icon for each Epson printer; look in PROPERTIES: and then MAKE & MODEL and copy what is entered there for each printer; and paste back here please what you get

Epson reckon for the 1430 you should have epson-inkjet-printer-201114w_1.0.0-1lsb3.2_amd64.deb installed;

and for the 4630 they say epson-inkjet-printer-escpr_1.6.17-1lsb3.2_amd64.deb
twilhelm

Post by twilhelm »

For the Artisan 1430