Epson printer wf-2530 SOLVED!

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
neilmacc1

Epson printer wf-2530 SOLVED!

Post by neilmacc1 »

I can't make it work on my computer. I downloaded a 64bit .deb file from this link...<http://download.ebz.epson.net/dsc/du/02 ... 1d2515a5ff> but it doesn't seem to do anything. I tried searching 'epson' in the synaptic software thingy and downloaded everything that came up in the search, none of those seem to do anything either. It's a wifi printer but I don't know how to make it be connected so I bought a USB wire instead, still nothing.

I have ASUS K55 laptop and linux mint 17 64bit. I am not new to using linux but I am new to using mint pus I don't think I have ever managed to get this printer to work and I just don't 'get' how printers do their thing..... I was hoping it would just bing-bong when I plugged the usb in and automatically find the right drivers.

I have read a little on some other threads but they were just way too technical with words and abbreviations I don't understand (essentially meaningless nonsense to me). I looked at the 'add printer' bit from the mint menu but again its all just meaningless techie waffle to me so I am completely lost.

help please.
Last edited by neilmacc1 on Wed May 23, 2018 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
pdc_2
Level 10
Level 10

Re: Epson printer wf-2530

Post by pdc_2 »

so Neil, welcome to the Mint forums;

if you have 64bit Mint, you would have needed a 64bit deb package; epson-inkjet-printer-201211w_1.0.0-1lsb3.2_amd64.deb

if you clicked to OPEN it as you started to download it, then gdebi installer, should have leapt in and offered to install the package for you; if you selected SAVE, it should be in your Downloads folder; and if you double-click on it there, it should install; and it will ask for your SUDO password;