EPSON L4150 installation [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Maninmanaus

EPSON L4150 installation [SOLVED]

Post by Maninmanaus »

Hi. I'm a Linux newbie. Started using it a month ago and have been pleasantly surprised... until I bought an Epson L4150 printer yesterday and installed it for our 4 computers and wifi network at home. With the windows computers it was a breeze.. five minutes each one. Installing it for our mobile phones? A doddle. For our iPad, no problem. Then I got to our lovely shiny new linux machine, and, well, 24 hours later and I´m almost ready to ditch linux and install windows. However, on the basis that I really know nothing (yet) about linux, I will struggle on - hopefully with a little help from the forum!

So, let's see if I can remember how I spent yesterday.... I went to the Epson site and found the Linux drivers. I installed the amd64 one (I don't understand why it is labelled amd (first I installed the i386 one and wasted an hour or so wondering what 'failed dependencies' were), and followed the instructions until I got the package installed OK. Thinking this was the solution to the problem, I then went to try to print and was faced with installing a driver by selecting a printer from a long list supplied, I presume, by Mint(?). I selected Epson, and scrolled down the list... and scrolled... and scrolled to the bottom. The L4150 is not listed anywhere.